FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At FoodSaver® Brand
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black

Stainless Steel FoodSaver® V2840 Advanced Design Vacuum Sealer vacuum packages, preserves and even marinates food in minutes, then flips up to save space when not in use. Store wet, dry and delicate foods safely in airtight bags with CrushFree™ Instant Seal, two sealing levels and an extra-wide sealing strip. Built-in roll holder, cutter and accessory port included.
Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
88 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 88 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
82 out of 8893%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
This review is fromFoodSaver® V2840 Vacuum Sealer.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
suzie55
From:Connecticut
Gender:Female
Household Size:1
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

STOPPED WORKING

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although I use my foodsaver after my trips to the big box stores twice a month my foodsaver has stopped working,it sounds like it's about to die for good now.It no longer takes any air out of the bags ,can anybody tell me the reason for this,it's not thar old??
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
This review is fromFoodSaver® V2840 Vacuum Sealer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
JennyM
From:Louisa, VA
Gender:Female
Household Size:1
Interest:Batch Cooker

Outstanding vacuum sealer!!!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am SO excited about this product! Feels very sturdy & well-built, buttons "feel" good, attractive unit and it really works! Quick and easy to make bags from rolls, vacuum & seal works great. I did nuts and wild rice ... package rock hard. I did some chow mein noodles and hitting the seal button to stop the vacuum process before crushing the noodles worked fine. One reason that sold me on the FoodSaver brand was that parts, gaskets, etc. were available. This is permanently on my counter top ... will use a lot, and save money. Thanks, FoodSaver!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
This review is fromFoodSaver® V2840 Vacuum Sealer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
kimmer
From:Summerville, SC
Gender:Female
Household Size:4
Interest:Batch Cooker

Awesome Product

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My husband is the "vacuumer" of the family & he raves about using this sealer. It's so worth it, easy to use & keeps food very fresh. Don't know why we took so long to get one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
This review is fromFoodSaver® V2840 Vacuum Sealer.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ChristyLee
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Gardener

Very classy looks, easy to operate

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gift for my spouse, his 3rd foodsaver
Loves the design, with flip-up storage.
loves the adjustable level of sealing and wanted the auto stop feature for liquids.
Very happy with this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Desdesinc
From:Lafayette, CA
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Works great with lots of great features.

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just upgraded from my 550 (10+ years of good service, not too pleased about the non-availability of repair parts, though) to this V2840 and I have to say that this model is a step up and more. The design addresses some of the shortcomings of the earlier machine as well as adding some welcome new features. I particularly like the tip-up feature to minimize the counter footprint (can't say the same for the looks of the bottom) as well as the high speed setting & the separate seal button. I find the ability to pull a partial vacuum on bags with soft contents and then seal without further vacuum to be very useful. I can see why people love this model. Very simple and easy to operate. An incredible value when purchased as "The Gourmet Starter Kit". Same machine, cheaper price and a few useful extras as well. After 2 months I'm loving this purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
shortwarrior
From:ogdensburg , NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

this product is a godsend

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this has enabled me to take advantage of bulk savings and food preservation with maximum freshness. After seeing food spoiled due to freezer burn and ripped plastic bags, I expect my food saver will pay for itself over and over again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Cheri
From:New Freedom, PA
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Excellent product

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very pleased with this food saver. It is easy to use and seals great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
KBKarl
From:Shelton, CT
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Awesome Deal

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bang for your buck. Bought on sale and have already saved a bunch sealing bulk food. Love it! Easy to use and goes to vertical stance to take up less counter space.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Jadecker10
From:Fargo ND
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

Easy to use and quiet

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Stainless Steel & Black model and it looks great. I paid $99 with free shipping and recieved lots of bonus items and tons of bags. The machine is very quiet and very easy to operate. It has bag storage and a cutter which is a great feature. After a couple of weeks I have no complaints. I would recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Shabangu
From:Nampa, ID
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

This product is great!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first major foodsaver purchase and I am very satisfied. Besides the great value (it was on sale and included several extras), it is very simple to use.
I read several reviews before purchasing this product. It would be nice to have a spacer between the gaskets when storing the unit so the gaskets do not stick together. However, with a little cleaning maintenance to the gaskets and a homemade spacer, the problem is inconsequential.
I have saved so much money by preserving my groceries, that the only real problem I have is that I am now running out of space in my freezer!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Pops
From:Prudenville, Michigan
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Great product at a great price.

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this model to replace another model that I had for years, gave it to my grandson. This is by far the best foodsaver I've had yet. So easy to use and stores upright and out of the way. Mainly use this product for wild game and fish. Keeps used caulk in the tube fresh for later use, and also have use it to keep paint rollers from drying out until used again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
SJF07
From:Greensboro, North Carolina
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

This product is great!

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We were looking for something to help keep our vegetables from our garden fresh longer, so far so good!
Also, we buy chicken in bulk, then we vacuum package them into smaller portions - using the moisture strips bags.
Definitely suggest this product for others to buy!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Michael69
From:Gautier, MS
Gender:Male
Household Size:5

This product does what it says.

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have tried other products that were ok. Your product is superior to any other. We have used it to store individual pks of cereal, beans, rice, pork chops, etc. I will recommend this to everyone. It is also fun to use. I wish we would have bought it sooner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Julie60
From:West Alexandria, OH
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Excellent Product - Great Deal

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first food saver and it is awesome. Bought it for my husband, he is the chef in the home and does the canning and freezing from the garden. Easy to use! Able to create your own size bags, is a real plus. No more freezer burn! Already freezing zucchini from the garden.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
This review is fromFoodSaver® V2840 Vacuum Sealer.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Randy

Was`good while it lasted

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
While I have gotten a good two years from my unit...it seems now to not have enough power to suck ALL the air out of a bag before sealing...thus defeating the purpose of the unit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ZumbaKitty77
From:Tonawanda, NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

LOVE IT!!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No more wasting food! I love it and I can portion out my Weight Watchers meals! Getting myself to come home portion and cook something was my weakness. I would end up grabbing something on my way home instead. Now all I have to do it walk in the door, pull out what I have ready and eat!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
This review is fromFoodSaver® V2840 Vacuum Sealer.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Whirledpeas
From:Centennial, CO
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Batch Cooker

Disappointing

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this product because it appears to have good reviews overall. Unfortunately, I have found the product to be very disappointing. I bought this to replace a Professional II with which I had been very satisfied. The company no longer makes nor repairs the Professional II. This V2840 is very clumsy in its design and does a poor job sealing. If you are thinking of replacing a Professional II with this product, you're going to be quite unhappy. I was unable to start making use of this product until I was already near the end of the return period. On average, about 6 out every 11 packages don't seal to a vacuum at all. The majority of those that appear initally to have sealed to a vacuum find their way loose. I don't know what I'm going to do with this product. I'll junk, I guess. It performs so poorly, I'd be embarrased to give it to anyone as gift. It's been a lesson learned and, unfortunately, an expensive one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Cali
From:Baja California, Mexico
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Great unit, excellent price!

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great little unit. I replaced an old unit (which was still working perfectly) with this one for the advanced features. The new unit is so much quieter and faster. The handy flip up and out of the way feature is super. I love the one touch hands free sealing. This unit also works with all my old vacuum canisters. The pricing is incredible, it cost less than I paid for my original older Foodsaver! This is a perfect starter unit for anyone who has never used a Foodsaver and will make an excellent wedding or birthday gift.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
john71
From:Loveland, Colorado
Gender:Male
Household Size:1

absulutely great

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this as a gift for friends as I have this model. They are extremely satisfied with the ease of use and sturdy construction. It also takes up a minimum of counter space since it folds up. They were also very happy with the bagging material that comes with the unit and the vacuum container. They are already busy at work vacuum packing a variety of food items.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Starter Kit - Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Don46
From:Boston MA
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Excellent overall product

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instructions were clear and the product is very easy to use. I catch a lot of fish and this product keeps the fish fresh for a long time with no freezer burn. A really terrific value and quality product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>