FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver The Gourmet Starter Kit - White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver The Gourmet Starter Kit - White

Stainless Steel FoodSaver® V2840 Advanced Design Vacuum Sealer vacuum packages, preserves and even marinates food in minutes, then flips up to save space when not in use. Store wet, dry and delicate foods safely in airtight bags with CrushFree™ Instant Seal, two sealing levels and an extra-wide sealing strip. Built-in roll holder, cutter and accessory port included.
Overall rating:
4.729 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
85 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
68
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
80 out of 8594%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Review 1 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ResaGA
From:Martinez, Ga
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Batch Cooker

So far, I love it!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I haven't had the product very long but so far, I love it. My mother has a foodsaver so I was familiar with the product prior to my purchase. This item was on a special sale at the time and was sooo affordable that I couldn't pass it up! It looks great on my counter and I love that I can "flip it up" for more counter space when needed! Bags are easy to make from rolls and easy to vacuum too. I use the accessory tube more often than I use the machine for vacuuming because of the ziplock bags and containers ... I really love them too (although I occassionally have to make several attempts at vacuuming the ziplock bags ... but I am getting the hang of it). I am very happy with my purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Morganistan
From:Tenino, WA
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Exactly as advertised, awesome price!

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We just got the model 2840 on sale with some extra goodies thrown in. Worked perfectly out of the box and the difference in the quality of the frozen food is obvious, almost no frost on the veggies, good color, tight seal etc.
We haven't had it long but we're very pleased with it thus far. The flip up storage feature is more useful than it might seem, very small countertop footprint when flipped up.
Cons: I wish the cord was about a foot longer but that's just a personal preference.
The bags are expensive in my opinion, They can't be that costly to make so I think they could lower the price on them considerably and still make money but that's not how business works.
I would recommend this product and in fact, already have!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
BarbieQ
From:Memphis TN
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Food Saver Great ideas.

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have 4 different model machines now and really like them, use them weekly. Probably need to invest in commercial grade. But for now Food Saver is getting the job done. The only thing we have found is it is hard to find replacement parts for things like seal strip covers. We seal a lot of moist meats and the seal strips seam to wear out first. Other than that the machines are definitely money savers. Wish certain models would also stay on market longer. For the money this machine is a very good product. We used the newest machine this weekend and really like it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Bayala
From:East Tennessee
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Foodsaver is Total Awesomness!

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I dont know how i made it this long without one! My Foodsaver has quickly became my most favored, most used kitchen item. I can individually package large packs of meat for easy recipe needs, store more in my freezer and no longer worry about nasty freezer burn. I cant wait to purchase a few for gifts so i can share its wonders with my friends and family who have yet to use one. They are totally gonna love me for it! You guys at Foodsaver are doing what you claim, keep up the good work.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
linebc1
From:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Good value!

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am a new user of the food saver. Two friends had raved about it. My husband was also enthusiastic about purchasing one. Customer support was helpful in answering initial questions before buying. Product arrived promptly. Directions were easy to follow. Instant success in using it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Nila
From:Palm Desert CA
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

A necessity

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is our second one, (same model, just newer). The first finally got tired, after years of service.
The difference it makes in retaining the fresh flavor of food, particularly meats (which we buy at Costco and break down into single servings) is FABULOUS!
Will not be without one ever if I can help it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
tink2
From:syraacuse,ny
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

love what you can seal

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
when I first received my sealer I was totaly confused on the operation of the machine, but fortunately my brother-in-law has one and I went over to get a lesson on how to operate and I am not a stupid person when it comes to operating gadgets but I do think if a dvd was included in the pakage it would be helpful , I am sure I am not the only one who had difficulty in the usage in the beginning.
Once I got the hang of it I love it and would highly recommend it .
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Baker40
From:Pharr, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Batch Cooker

This product has great features

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I want to say I'm in love with my new FoodSaver vacuum sealer. I already own a smaller FoodSaver unit, but with less features. I started having some trouble with it after 8 months of moderate use, then I saw this model & I decided to invest in a new one. I love that it has a setting for dry ingredients & another for moist ingredients, plus it has a built in roll holder & cutter. How cool is that! I love the sleek stainless steel lid & the fact that you can flip it to save space on your counter or pantry. So far I've used it about 8 times since I got it & I have no complaints yet. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the little knob on the side that keeps the lid shut while it is vacuuming & sealing is a great feature, I had to press down on my older one to vacuum properly & no need to do that with this one. It really saves time & money while keeping food fresh for a longer time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
DoctorD
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Perfection every time

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is, without a doubt, a lazy man's dream come true. No fiddling with scissor cutting the bags - not with the built-in cutter. If you can push the bag opening into the vacuum slot and press a button - you've found the epitome of vacuum sealing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Chase519
From:NC
Gender:Male
Household Size:4
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Much better than RIval Seal-a-meal!!!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had a Rival Seal-a-Meal for about 3 years, and it still works, but it has never been effective on getting a good vacuum seal on my frozen foods. The FoodSaver model here will vacuum seal on the same level as a commercial vacuum sealer. It is a great product that I got at a great price! And, no, I'm not biased and I dont work for FoodSaver....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
singer4660
From:Syracuse, NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Does Exactly What it Says it Will

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I recently purchased the Gourmet Starter Kit which contains the V2840 (clam shell) product. I unpacked it, read the Quick Start guide and started sealing. What a great product! It works exactly as it claims, is reasonably quiet, and stores away nicely. I have packaged ground beef, chicken, corn, and even fried eggplant. I'm not thrilled with the 3 inches of extra bag required to seal each bag, but if this is the biggest problem I have with it I'm still a very happy customer. I would definitely recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Jim51
From:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

The Gourmet Kit is a great value for the price!

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased my second FoodSaver vacuum sealer. I really enjoyed trying out the new bags (The Perforated bag/ great for items that go together yet need to be kept seperate until needed. The Microwave bag/ very easy to use. The Expandable bag/ you can fit some really big items in this bag because it is 11" across and about 4 1/2" tall) and with the assorted containers and bags there is not much around the kitchen that you can't bag or store in a vacuum sealed container! BEST purchase I made for the hollidays!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
BamaSteph
From:Smalltown, Alabama
Gender:Female
Household Size:5
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

The real deal!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband has pushed for us to get a vacuum sealer for ages. Silly me wanted to save some money so bought two knock off types. They did not work very well at all. I learned my lesson, waited and got a Foodsaver on sale. Absolutely a world of difference. This just WORKS. I'm thrilled with my purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
puddermom4
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

love the product

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is great. It's a little larger than I thought it would be so I thought there would be a problem with storing it...but I was wrong. It folds up nicely to fit on a shelf. I've used it already and it is really simple to use...it basically does all the work itself. You just stand by and watch it do it's thing. I love the storage compartment for the rolls and the cutting edge means no more looking for scissors to cut the bogs. I would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a food saver device.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Mike27
From:Austin, Texas
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Great value on sale!

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the next model up that had the canister feature but that one started not holding a vacuum after a couple of years and needed a replacement. I was disappointed my old one could not be repaired so was very happy to get the offer on this new one with canister set, cheese grater with container and multiple bags and rolls, all for $99.00. I love the cheese grater/container and now I am back in the sealing business. This is about my 4th vacuum sealer and I really depend on them for keeping my food fresh.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Mommajo
From:Yuma, AZ
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Great for sealing chip bags, too!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had a Food Saver "suck n seal" forever it seems. When I wear one out, because I use it all the time for just about everything, I immediately buy a new one.
Nothing goes into the freezer, or pantry, without being suck n sealed first at our house if it's in a paper wrapper, or not sealed in a glass or plastic container.
Something no one has mentioned that I use ours for, is re-sealing potato chip bags when we're not finishing a bag. It's simply a matter of putting the bag in the sealer, and just hitting the seal only button. We usually do the seal in two spots, one just above the other to make sure it seals completely tight.
Chip bags are usually tin foil type bags, with a wax lining, so they seal very well. The chips are as good as when you first opened the bag on the second opening.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
hulagaga
From:Charlotte, NC
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Love it!!!

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the V2840 in black to replace an older, smaller sealer. I liked it so well, I just bought it in white as a
back-up! I knew I'd be upset someday, when the black one gives out, and didn't want to do without it. So the new white one is packed away for future use.
This system is easy to use, and has great features... two
speed settings, built-in bag cutter, even a holder for
the marker I use to label the bags. The unit is just great for bags, canisters and containers. We love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
anovi
From:Nevada
Gender:Female
Household Size:6

3 stars because I have not used it yet

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just gave the gourmet Starter kit to hubby for Fathers day so I gave it three stars because we really have not used it to know if we like it and this is our first one ever.
It looks nice so a star for appearance. A star for Value.
And a Star for customer service as we had a broken Cheese grader lid that one phone call no questions asked just its being shipped and on its way. I will come back in a few months or so and give a real review and see if it earns its other 2 stars.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-14points
1of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Gmann
From:Norristown, PA
Gender:Male
Household Size:3

Great product

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second food saver. I really get alot of use out of it. I save money by buying meats in bulk. I recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Gourmet Starter Kit - White
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ahudson
From:Commerce, Georgia
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

wonderful product!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this machine! I want to vacuum seal everything. It is very easy to use, came with bags, rolls and canister, everything to get me started. I, of course, had to get back in and order more variety of bags & rolls! The steamer bags are awesome, I cooked my squash and sealed in these bags, now all I do is take a bag out of freezer when wanted and pop into microwave! I've now ordered the jar sealer and can't wait to get that and give it a try!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>