FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At FoodSaver® Brand
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for foodsaver Family Chef Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver Family Chef Kit

The Family Chef FoodSaver® Kit features the SmartSeal™ V3485 vacuum sealer, a hands-free, vacuum packaging and marinating dynamo in a space-saving, upright design. Protect and preserve moist, dry and delicate food safely in canisters or bags.
Overall rating:
4.031 / 5
4
 / 
5
64 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 64 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
9
50 out of 6478%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for Family Chef Kit
Review 1 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
dbcat
From:Hampden,MA
Gender:Male
Household Size:1
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Easy to use.

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The stand up design makes it easy to use and takes up very little counter space. I previously owned the older laid down version and it took up too much space (have limited counter space) and required two hands to operate. Love the newer upright design, it can be operated one-handed as well. Passed the old one onto my son and it still works great just a little more inconvenient.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Family Chef Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
lfonkert
From:Luverne, MN
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

features and giftability

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I already have a food saver and have had three machines so far.....I keep upgrading. This one was purchased as a gift for my son and daughter-in-law. They actually had it on their list. I can sing the praises of the food saver. I have saved alot of money on chicken and meat since I now have no freezer burn. I could do a commercial, believe me. What a wonderful product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Family Chef Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
DebH
From:Riverton, WY
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Ease of use makes this one great.

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can be left on counter for easy use anytime. Doesn't take up too much space. Super for buying bulk products for repackaging. Make those big meals for family gatherings and package the leftovers for meals for one or two that last in the freezer. So easy for just one person to use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Family Chef Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
bmil
From:Garland, Utah
Gender:Female
Household Size:4
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

very impressed

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought this foodsaver for me 3years ago. It has worked great. It has lasted longer then any other one i have bought in stores. I just bought one for my mom for chrtistmas. Hope she likes it as well as i have mine.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Densie04
From:Waterford Michigan
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Works Really Well

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like the style and it functions really well (this is my 2nd machine). My only complaint is that it wastes too much plastic when sealing the bag. Need to work on the design to reduce the amount needed to seal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
musiccity7
From:Huntington, Texas
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

By far the easiest to use model I have ever used.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned several of these and this one has many features that the original Foodsaver did not have such as hands free , bag storage, bag cutter, built in assessory hose for sealing canisters and marinating container, and this model stands up vertically which saves cabinet space.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Budro
From:Bellaire Ohio
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

model v 3485

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had several different models before this one which I have had no complaints about .But this one we are sorry we bought it . It takes forever to get done because its either hot or the bags not in place right. hand placement is better
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From:Aiken, SC
Gender:Male
Household Size:3

Great value

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this package and I have been satisfied. The package comes with everything necessary to start packaging food out of the box.
The machine has worked great so far. I have used all the accessories and options. The machine is easy to use. It will take some time to familiarize yourself with operations. READ the manual!
I have been apprehensive about buying a FoodSaver because they reviews are not great. It seems like they are hit or miss, when it comes to having problems. One thing that eased my mind was how helpful Food Saver is.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ReginaK
From:Kansas City, MO
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Great!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my food saver! I got my first one about 8 or so years ago and I hadn't used it in a while because it was no longer sealing. I decided to get the new one and I love it! Looks great on my counter and I use it all the time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
BoopStar
From:Barnesville, MN
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Lots of features

PostedDecember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my first Foodsaver vacuum saver 8 years ago. I recently upgraded to the Chef model because is sits upright and takes up less space on my counter. It also has so many new features such as "hands free" sealing. I gave my original Foodsaver vacuum saver to my brother who is extremely excited to have it!
I have recommended the Foodsaver vacuum saver to several of my friends who have purchased them. They are not only great for preserving leftovers, but I also use it for sealing my sugars, pasta, rice, etc. in canning jars to keep them fresh. When I harvest my gardens in the fall, I use the vacuum sealer to seal and freeze my vegi's for later use. I love the new freeze and boil bags!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Alyce
From:Winter Haven, FL
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Best small appliance in my kitchen!

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Not sure why so many have issues with this model. I love it. I has a small foot pint on the counter ... plenty of counter space in front of the unit. Fast, easy, convenient to use. So much so that I use it for refrigerated left-overs too.
I seal every bag, except the typical supermarket "baggie" type. Every cereal bag, cookie/cracker bag, snack bag, frozen food bags in my house gets sealed and resealed. After a few sealings, you get the knack on how much of the leading edge of the bag you need to seal successfully. I have found that my average cereal serving size (regular size box) leaves me just the right amount to reseal. Same with the nuts that I use on my yogurt.
The multiple settings are so simple to use. There is no 'fiddling" with the bag to fit in the the sealing slot, if you read the instructions. Pull the top of the bag taut, and the unit turns on!
It is so easy and so fast that I never hesitate to reseal a bag. The savings are worth it. What I love the most is having a variety of chips, crackers, cookies and cereals in my pantry knowing they will not be stale in a week or two.
I have tracked my savings on perishables and find that my spending on cheeses, herbs, cereals, cookies/crackers, breads/rolls, meats and staples such as flours and sugars has decreased by about 18% annually. It also allows me to use coupons and to stock the pantry without worrying about losing my savings to spoilage..
I am very fastidious in doing research when it comes to making a purchase and I rate this one of my best purchases of 2009.
Highly recommend this model. If you like to cook, entertain and enjoy a variety of foods in your pantry while not worrying about spoilage, this is perfect for you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
patsun
From:Illinois
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

hard to use

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my second one V3485 and it works no better than the first one! VERY disappointed. When doing a lot of bags it quits , has to be restarted and wont seal or remove all the air. I have wasted bags trying to get them to seal. Have to keep a fan on it to get more than 2 seals from it. See otehrs have same complaint. Dont feel as concumer we should have to keep buying difrent models until we find one that works.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Damon
From:Colorado Springs, CO
Gender:Male
Household Size:5

This product was a waste of money

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product is a waste of money for two reasons.
One: the product uses bags inefficiently and you waste a lot of the roll. You can't seal as near the ends as you can on other models. The bag rolls are hard to keep in place as you use them as well.
Two: My unit broke after a year. Banking on the Foodsaver reputation, I don't have the receipt. I certainly didn't save any money on food by purchasing this unit. I have a much older Foodsaver that I love. So don't abandon Foodsaver, just don't buy this particular unit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
MizMary
From:Goble,OR
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Easy to use !!!!

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product looks nice in the kitchen ! It has instructions ON the machine, making it easy to learn to use !!! I will be using this machine every time I come home from the grocery store ! Looking forward to using the marinator !
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Bruce
From:Sykesville, MD
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

This is a great product

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is the third Food Saver I have purchased and by far the best one I have owned. The moisture tray is easy to clean. The auto seal feature works great. It has a much stronger vacuum than previous models I owned.
The retractable hose is very convient.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
conejo44
From:Santa Fe, NM
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

old was better

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second foodsaver. Both of them waste bag material.
The V3485 is very hard to use. I have to fiddle around with the bag a lot to get the unit to start. Also with the old one you could reseal most other bags, like chips and crackers not so with this one, the bag has to be stiff and even then you have to fight with it.
Would Not recommend this .
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
4SALESOLD
From:Mississippi
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Love, Love, Love my FoodSaver!

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had a FoodSaver for quite a long time. Replaced my old one (not because it didn't work...just wanted one with more bells and whistles) about a year ago with this model. Took me a little while to get the knack of using all the new features but when I did I was so glad I'd made this purchase. Like my neighbor (a retired gentleman) said....FoodSavers are the best invention ever.....and I agree!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
OSUNUT
From:Mi
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Not as good as the old machine

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product looks good , but the ease of use is a pain.
You have to try and fit the bag in the little slot they give you to vacuum the bag . I owned the 1st version of the FoodSaver and I loved it . Simple and easy to use. I decided to upgrade. Should have kept my old machine! Wish I could just switch it out for a different model. Not very happy with this one. I would not recommend this machine!!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
SorelyDisappointed
From:Colorado
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

very poor quality

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought one of these and was so excited to try it. I wouldn't recommend this to ANYONE! You can't seal more than one bag without waiting 10-15 minutes between bags. I took it back to the store and got a replacement, thinking that it was just a defect and the second one did the same thing. Thank goodness I got an extended warranty from the store when I bought it and I'm getting a gift card as a replacement when I return this. I wouldn't buy one again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Family Chef Kit
This review is fromFamily Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Mom2X
From:Jonesboro, AR
Gender:Female
Household Size:4

Great money saver

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this food saver. I have been watching it for a while and reading about it. My mother-in-law had same brand different model and I loved using hers. This one is even better! Convenient and fast!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>