FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags

FoodSaver® Gallon Vacuum Zipper Bags feature an expandable bottom for easy filling, and are ideal for use with your FreshSaver® Handheld & MealSaver™ vacuum sealing systems. The bags are great for deli meats, cheeses, leftovers and other refrigerated foods that you access daily. Preserve and protect with FoodSaver® bags designed with channels that allow complete air removal. Multi-ply construction blocks moisture and oxygen and makes the bags strong enough to simmer and microwave.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
10 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 1090%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
IthacaNancy
From:Ithaca, NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Easy Way to Extend Freshness

PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I buy almost all of my food directly from the farmers who've grown it, and eat very little packaged food. So it's really nice to have my own 'packing supplies' at home. I've found these bags easy to use. I like that I can easily see what I have packaged and the bags don't take up much room. I also make my own charcuterie products and cheeses and I appreciate that I can store them safely and easily.
I made the mistake of using these bags in the freezer, and the little plastic piece that creates the vacuum seal came off when the bag was frozen. So those bags became worthless. But that was my error, since the company says these are not for use in the freezer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Bearluver
From:Denver, Co
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Good for lunch meats and cheese

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've found this is actually great for cheese if you buy in bulk. The one thing I would like to see is something like this for the freezer. I do use them for frozen vegetables because there are only the two of us and bags of frozen vegetables are way too big. The tabs do fall off after two or three openings but if you can find them (normally hiding in the freezer somewhere) and thaw them out they will stick again for at least one more time in the freezer, which is actually about how long it takes us to get through a bag of peas or corn. It keeps the vegetables from drying out and getting freezer burn.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
Devy

good bags but need a better one for freezing

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
These bags are easy to use and work well for dehydrated foods and refrigeration but anytime I use them in the freezer the tabs come off and they lose their seal. I threw a lot of food away before I realized these did not work in the freezer. It's too bad, because that is what I would use them for the most if they worked. I still get a lot of use out of them for packing my kids snacks though. I fill a bunch at a time and seal them so the kids can grab and go without having to worry about stale crackers, etc. I can rinse and reuse many times when used for snacks and dried foods, they hold up well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
LisaLisa
From:Austin, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:4

Love it!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been wanting a foodsaver for a long time but the price just put me off. I found one of these Mealsaver devices in my local grocery store but couldn't find the price. Using my iPhone, I scanned the label and got prices from $49 to $69 at various stores - except for the store I was in. I finally got someone to scan it and it was $14.97! I picked up a box of quart and gallon size bags and started using as soon as I got home. How easy is it? Wayyy easy! I had to move the hand-held vacuum device around a little to find the sweet spot but it removed all the air an held perfectly. My vegetables stay fresh and crispy for so much longer, and I don't have to throw leftovers away after a day or so. It takes up almost no room, and it's so convenient! I use it for everything. Highly recommend!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
gpa1
From:MISSOURI
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

added tips

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WHEN SEALING THE ZIPPER BAG, AFTER YOU REMOVE THE PORTABLE VACUUM OR THE TUBE LINE, IMMEDIATELY PRESS THE TAB WITH YOUR FINGER TO MAKE SURE THE SEAL IS COMPLETE. I NOTICED THAT A FEW TIMES IT WOULD NOT SEAL AND COULD SEE AIR RETURNING, BUT AFTER MAKING SURE THE SEAL WAS DOWN WITH A PRESS OF THE FINGER, ALL WAS WELL.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Joni
From:Scottsdale, AZ
Gender:Female
Household Size:5

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love these bags! I buy in bulk and these are very convenient. My favorite use is for cheeses. They keep the cheese fresh for months! No kidding!!!
Hopefully, they'll start making these for the freezer, as well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ambonito
From:Brunswick, GA
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Excellent Product

PostedApril 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We find these bags and the portable sealer very efficient and use them in the freezer with few problems. It's easy to reseal them after opening and reusing until the cheese or lunch meat is gone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
wong0905
From:san jose, ca
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

great bag

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the expandable bottom bags. As others have stated, you might get a dud but I only have had 2 that did not work. I have used them multiple times, especially for salad. Works like a dream to keep the salad fresh for days and sometimes weeks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
GigiBHW
From:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

LOVE the handheld system.

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using this system for about a year and a half and absolutely love it. Has saved me so much money on fresh products that otherwise would have "turned" to non-edible in a short period of time.
Great with any food you use it for. The only "con" I can think of is that if the bag has been sealed and unsealed repeatedly, it sometimes won't work. Do wish the bags were a little more cost effective.
I want to get the large system, but it would take up too much room on my kitchen counter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Vacuum Zipper Gallon Bags
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
cbk16
From:Jackson

bad features

PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Do not buy these bags. Waste of money. They do not work properly. Very hard to seal the bags. BAd Bad Bad Bad
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.