FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers

FoodSaver® Produce Keeper™ containers and specially designed FreshFilters™ Packs keep fruits and vegetables fresh longer by slowing the ripening process. As fruits and vegetables ripen, they naturally emit ethylene gas that speeds up ripening. Patented FoodSaver® FreshFilters™ absorb the ethylene gas to slow ripening, while FoodSaver® Produce Keeper™ containers provide an ideal environment to keep produce fresh longer.
Overall rating:
4.053 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
19 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
16 out of 1984%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Review 1 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
laplus5

This product is awesome!

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used the foodsaver canisters for years to keep lettuce fresh. They always kept it for a week or more. They no longer make these canisters and all of my lids quit sealing, so I decided to try these produce savers. I have been using these for 2 months and they keep my lettuce much better than the canisters did. I have kept lettuce between a week and 2 weeks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ziniti
From:Attleboro, MA
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

Great product, but....

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I WAS a skeptic about anything that would REALLY keep produce fresh longer, but I'm a convert. It works! I just took out a head of lettuce that's been there for a couple of weeks and....It's still crisp and fresh. REALLY surprised and pleased.
My only regret with this product is that it is square in shape. That's great for small or round produce, but, I like celery which is too long for the containers. The instructions say that you shouldn't cut produce before storing. There is no way to put celery into the containers without cutting, They need to make a rectangular container for long produce like celery, carrots, etc.
Also, I wish they stacked somehow. They take up A LOT of space in the cupboard when not in use. Be aware that you will need to purchase the freshness packets for the canisters in the future (they come with the first set). They are NOT anything more than containers without the freshness packs. If you choose them ONLY as containers, you'll be disappointed. They are NOT air tight and not supposed to be. They are made for the sole purpose of keeping produce fresh with the fresh packs.
Because of the square shape and the storage "problem" I gave it only 4 stars.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
HogueDaddy
From:San Diego, CA.
Gender:Male
Household Size:3

Difficult to open or close

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kept our lettuce and some other veggies fresher longer, but, these were rather hard for my wife to open or close properly. Had to close them after her several times.
Plus, the filters do not last long enough. They are the right idea, but need work. Some of the other cannisters are also great but the rubber gaskets become brittle or wear out and lose the seals. The one we use for our coffee beans worked fine then stopped being able to be sealed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
RogerDodger

work well, but fragile

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They do work as advertised, but while hand-washing one of them (brand new out of the box) it cracked like an eggshell. The plastic is very thin and brittle, so be careful..!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
SFdenny
From:San Francisco

Keeps salad greens fresh

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I use the large one to keep mixed salad greens fresh for at least a week. I use the smaller one on my counter where it is perfect for keeping tomatoes fresh. These really work.
I do find the large size is bigger than need for anything other than salad greens so I wish these were sold in sets with 2 of the smaller ones and one of the large ones or better yet that you could buy them individually.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
lin67
From:Syracuse, NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:5
Interest:Batch Cooker

Keeps tomatoes fresh for days.

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love buying cherry tomatoes and keeping them on the counter top to munch on. The FreshSaver container keeps these tomatoes fresh for days or maybe weeks. I also like putting greens in them for refrigeration. The filters are a challenge to learn to put on the lids but after figuring them out I had no problem. Would also love to have a flatter container for the refrigerator. I am wanting to buy more containers but find they are not available now. I hope the absence now means they are being remodeled and will be available for purchasing later.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
scarlett811
From:FT MILL SC
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

DOES A GREAT JOB

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used to use Debbie Meyers green bags. These are so much better and are reusable.Just got this set and it works better than I expected. Green peppers have stayed crisp and fresh for over 3 weeks. I highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Sunrose130
From:Texas
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

This product could be good if....

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
it was made out of thicker material and had lids that would stay on. The filters tend to come apart and the little round pellets can go all over. Certainly not worth the price. Don't waste your time or money.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Nancy
From:Lancaster, OH
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Near-Perfect Produce Keeper

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love these produce keepers! If they would make one that is long and narrow to hold celery/asparagus they would be perfect! I've had red bell peppers in one for 3 weeks and they are still fresh, firm, and crisp!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
TexasGirl
From:Tyler, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Love this Product - it WORKS!

PostedJune 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't buy enough of these produce canisters - I eat a lot of fruit and veggies and I love these canisters. I have kept grapes for over 2 weeks, I bought some pluots (plum/apricot mix) and left a couple of them out of the canisters the difference was amazing - the ones in the canisters after 2 weeks still are great, the ones out of the canisters are all shrivelled!! I have bought 5 sets and keep giving them as gifts to all my family.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
dfs61
From:McDonough, GA
Gender:Male
Household Size:3

This product looks great....

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
However, it did not maintain the longevity of freshness that I would've enjoyed. Fresh-bought lettuce began turning brown within a week of storage. Nonetheless, whole tomatoes retained their freshness for at least a week's time. I currently have pineapple slices in one, and hope to maintain a level of freshness that I expect.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
juliev6435
From:Hillsboro, Ohio
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE!!

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These containers keep your fruit and vegetables fresh for weeks! Please bring these back and make them available to your customers once again! I have been desperately searching for some of these! They work GREAT!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
TheWip
From:Dallas, TX
Gender:Male
Household Size:5
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

So Good I Need More!

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product! But they have been on back order for a while...... this site needs an option to be notified when the product will be available.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Laurel
From:Pekin, Il
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

A real money-saver!

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These were a real value with a buy one - get one free promotion. They do a great job keeping produce fresh. I have not had to throw away any produce since I started using them. My husband complains that they are hard to remove from the refrigerator - no handle or grip on the sides and no room to grab the top with our shelf heights. A longer, narrower size would also be nice. Shipping charge on the filters is quite high, considering the small size and light weight.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
Gringo
From:Detroit, MI
Gender:Male
Household Size:3

works well but could be improved

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I did several direct comparison with a regular/standard plastic and glass container and I am amazed how well the Foodsaver Produce Keeper works. It really does make a big difference. On the downside, I think the plastic is not very durable and a bit too brittle (cracks easily) The filter twist & lock system should be simpler. The lid does not fit on very easily. I will buy more of these containers it the quality & design is improved.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
L01S
From:Spokane, WA
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Fresh forever

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These containers are amazing! I buy the big containers of strawberries at Costco and put them into a container as soon as I get home. Ten days later and the berries look, feel and taste nearly as fresh as the day I bought them! The same goes for salad mix. The savings in unwasted produce pay for these containers easily.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
hsvscubaski

Use as storage container

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have not used it for produce yet. I did use it to store tuna salad. I put Saran Wrap over the bowl and then put the lid on.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
SueO
From:Garland, Texas
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Gardener

Produce Keeper

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved my product keepers but then they started to
crack also. They kept my fresh product fresh for weeks.
I was so disappointed when they were discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for FoodSaver® 3 Produce Keeper™ Containers
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5