FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At FoodSaver® Brand
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters

Each FoodSaver® Produce Keeper™ filter will last approximately three months. We receommend changing the filters every three months, regardless of the frequency of usage. Unopened filter packs will last several years. Each pack has a place for you to write in the date you need to replace the filter.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
21 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
18 out of 2186%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Review 1 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
kapsearch
From:San Francisco
Gender:Female
Household Size:4

Exceptional product

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am surprised there is only 1 review for this product. I have been using it for about 18 months and it is without a doubt one of those products you might think is fluff and it turns out to be something you can't live without. I have told numerous friends and family about it so I hope people are buying and Food Saver will keep making. It is incredible how long produce lasts in these containers. Carrots and celery that start softening after a few days in the refrigerator's "crisper" stay crunchy for weeks with these filters. Cut tomatoes, green beans, onions, everything stays so fresh far longer. Although the product is not cheap, it does pay for itself in produce you don't have to toss.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
LuLusMom
From:Chandler, AZ
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

This product is wonderful!

PostedJanuary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I actually bought this on sale and mistakenly thought it worked like the canisters. I was disappointed when I opened it and thought it wouldn't be a very good product. I was very mistaken. These containers with the filters really work well. They keep my produce very fresh and it lasts considerably longer than it did just sitting in the drawer of the refrigerator. It also keeps my refrigerator looking neater. I would definitely recommend this product. If you purchase fresh produce, especially if you are paying a premium for organic produce, you want it to last long enough to use it. This is the answer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Laurel
From:Pekin, Il
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

great product

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the produce keeper containers, assuming they were designed to use with the food-saver system. Even though you don't need a food-saver, they work exceptionally well to keep vegetables and fruit fresh. We recently changed to a vegan diet and these containers allow me to buy produce when it is on sale and keep it fresh much longer than usual. The containers were buy one and get one free - a great value! The replacement filters are reasonable enough, however the shipping is quite high, considering how small and lightweight they are. I will continue to use them - I haven't had to discard any produce since I got them.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
gourmetontherun
From:Central Coast, CA
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Can't be without these

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
With the Fresh Savers, I keep lettuce (even romaine leaves stacked in the container), mushrooms (paper towel on the bottom & don't wash them), fresh basil, broccoli and bagged spinach (don't touch it, just dump it from the plastic bag into the Fresh Saver container) for days beyond what is "normal" storage time. I absolutely LOVE them and have been using them for years now. Hand wash them to keep them from wharping so the lids snap on like they should. I have to say that at one time I had a problem with the filters not being properly sealed and the little purple beads spilling out, but they seem to have improved them as I haven't had that happen for some time now.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ziniti
From:Attleboro, MA
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

I WAS a skeptic

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This review is for the containers and the freshness packs, since, I believe, you really can't have one without the other. I WAS a skeptic about anything that would REALLY keep veggies fresh longer, but I'm a convert. It works! I just took out a head of lettuce that's been there for a couple of weeks and....It's still crisp and fresh. REALLY surprised and pleased. My only regret with this product is that the containers are square in shape. That's great for small or round produce, but, I like celery. The instructions say that you shouldn't cut produce before storing. There is no way to put celery into the containers without cutting, They need to make a rectangular container for long produce like celery, carrots, etc. Also, I wish they stacked somehow. They take up A LOT of space in the cupboard when not in use. Because of the storage and shape "problem" I gave this product only 4 stars.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
SteveF
From:Mechanicsburg, PA
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is an excellent product and much under appreciated! No, it does not have the vacuum feature that we think it 'ought' to, and yes, it is just as valuable, if not more so, than the vacuum products.
It really keeps produce, both fruits and vegetables fresh, on a much longer basis than just storing them in the fridge. Items that always went bad before I could get to them, are now still fresh to use!
Try this product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Redpop
From:Lansing, Michigan
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

SO MUCH BETTER THAN "GREEN" BAGS!

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These Food Saver Produce Keepers work WONDERFULLY! We plant a garden each summer & I can't even begin to relate to everyone just HOW WELL & how VERY LONG these keep the veggies fresh! I've tried those "Green Bags" that are supposed to do the same thing. I found that condensation accumulates in large amounts & very quickly, which requires that the bags be dried out almost every day! The Produce Keeper Filters, (which each last 3 months!) still gets some condensation inside the Fresh Saver, but it's very quick & easy to wipe it up, but doesn't require it to be done EVERYDAY! I've also found that by placing 2 pieces of paper towel (full sized pieces), folded in quarters & put in the bottom of the Fresh Saver under the produce, keeps the moisture down a LOT! For some reason, "Green Bags" tend to accumulate a LOT of condensation. If you follow a couple basic "rules", which are to wipe any condensation you may see starting to form on the inside of the Fresh Saver & set the veggies on dry, folded paper towel as I suggested, your veggies will last an amazing amount of time! Once in a while, if I've had some veggies in my Fresh Savers for a long while, I replace the paper towel if it becomes damp.
THESE ARE ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! We've been using Fresh Saver's for 4 or 5 years now & wouldn't trade them for all the free "Green Bags" in the world! There is a place on the bottom of the filter to write in the date you removed it from it's protective sealed package & (each filter is sealed in it's own protective seal & is not activated until you open it) the date it should be replaced, which they recommend be done after 3 months, which makes remembering to change the filters very easy! This product is a "Must Have" for gardeners, folks who like to eat lots of fresh veggies or just store a few tomatoes. The list of things that you can keep in these are endless!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+83points
83of 83voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
OrganicEater

Surprising Product

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had no idea when I purchased these how handy they would be. They are so easy to use and because I buy expensive organic produce for just one person it is important to me that they last as long as possible. I've been pleasantly surprised how much longer my produce lasts when I'm able to put them in there. Sometimes I buy so much that I have more than the three cannisters. Those that didn't make it in to them, don't last as long.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
AluminumChef
From:Santa Maria, CA
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

After Two Years - And Still Going Strong

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a long time customer of the Food Saver I too was sceptical about a non-vaccuum solution for storage that was better than the plastic bowls I already had. After using these canisters for almost two years, boy, am I impressed! I have kept iceburg lettuce for over a month in a cold refridgrtator. I have also stored tomatoes and green onions in the same canister for several weeks; the onions were still crisp and the tomatoes firm. I placed several firm avocados in a canister but had to take them out after two weeks in order to let them ripen. Although the filters are supposed to last 3 months I have found through use that they fall short of that goal by about a week or so. I am ordering replacement filters for my canisters to start their third year of service in my kitchen. The canisters are well built; mine still look brand new. I usually wash mine in the dishwasher (top rack).
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
bels
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

I have also had a problem with the bag

PostedJune 4, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've also had a problem with the bag breaking open and spilling bead all over-the costumer service is wonderful and did sent replacements but i continue to find "broken" pkts.
Still testing to see if it really works better than just keeping them in bags.
Costumer service is the best I've seen!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Sunrose130
From:Texas
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Very disappointed.

PostedJune 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very, very, very disappointed in this product. Not up to the quality I expect from Foodsaver!!! Containers were way too thin & the lids wouldn't stay on. The first "freshness filter" I took out of the package was open & spilled little purple balls onto my white counter top & stained it!!! The odor was awful!!!
Great idea, poor quality product. It could be made into a MUCH better quality product with thicker plastic in the containers & lids that stay on. The little filters need to be manufactured so they don't come open.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
coastalred
From:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Good product

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It really works. I would have given it 5 stars except that I have had several of the packets that have not been sealed well and when I removed them from the packaging, they spilled their dessicant pellets. I did not have a lot of success gluing the paper back to the plastic.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
squeekers
From:Volcano, HI
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

Love these!

PostedApril 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had these for years and they really do keep produce fresh. I also like that I don't have a bunch of bags of produce in my fridge that end up as science projects.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Keepfresh
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Works graeat

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product works great. I keep it in my produce drawer when not using the actual container.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
jkeeven
From:Stockton,Mo
Gender:Male
Household Size:1

Biggest peace junk I ever bought

PostedApril 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is really a joke they get full of moister and spoil your lettice or anything else I quit using in ref. and use as canisters I was stupid enough to buy two sets of them so I have more canisters then I know what to do with,I am on my third foodsaver over the years but will never buy from them again
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
SamDesign
From:Panama City Beach, FL
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

We just ordered and received the food saver filter

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our use of this item has been for several years. We live in FL where things tend to go bad easily due to the weather. This has saved my husband and I countless overripe veggies, fruits, etc. We swear by this and the other food saver products
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
SueO
From:Garland, Texas
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Gardener

Product Filters

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the key to the produce keepers. I was still able to use them when they were cracked. The filters help to keep the produce fresh longer. Great idea. Need work on plastic keepers.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
margieKat
From:Pie Town, NM
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Extraordinary product

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We live on the top of a mountain and can only go the grocery store monthly because it's a 6 hour round trip (and the cost of gas for an F250 truck...). I was trying to get by with green bags and freezing appropriate items in FoodSaver bags. This, of course, meant that I was throwing out items after 3 weeks and living on canned and frozen produce the last part of each month. We'll be starting a greenhouse eventually but until then produce keepers are amazing. I can go to Costco and successfully buy AND store a month's worth of fresh fruits and vegetables.without ever having to throw out spoiled items.
To the person who thought the covers fell off: there's a learning curve to putting on the lids sort of like burping Tupperware. Once the finally corner of the cover has been pushed down strongly but carefully the container makes a burping sound and then the lid is actually a little hard to take off -- the seal is that tight. I'm pretty sure this exceptional seal is what allows the filters to work so well. (After seeing my very impatient husband saying "These stupid lids don't work" , I learned about the learning curve! This is the ONLY reason I gave the "Easy to Use" factor an average rating.)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Glory18
From:Queens, NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Does what it says

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've read some of the reviews and find that many have problems. When there is water in the container you must empty it out, and wipe with a paper towel. You also have to make sure you hear a loud snap when closing, otherwise, it's not completely sealed.
Only once the filter package wasn't completely sealed correctly.
A great product and wouldn't be without it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® 9 Produce Keeper™ Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
juliev6435
From:Hillsboro, Ohio
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

A Little Messy BUT Well Worth It!

PostedAugust 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These packets of fresh saver "beads" can be somewhat messy at times, but they are more than worth it when they keep your fruits and vegetables fresh for up to 3 months! Love them and more than willing to have a little mess and have fresh fruit and vegetables!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>