FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At FoodSaver® Brand
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver

Created with hunters, fishermen and outdoor enthusiasts in mind, the new FoodSaver® GameSaver® Vacuum Sealing System features an updated, rugged design with integrated carrying handle, extra large drip tray and built-in storage compartment. Preserve your prize game and prevent freezer burn. *Under normal operating conditions.
Overall rating:
2.9 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
40 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
15
19 out of 4048%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Review 1 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Fo0Brees1

PostedNovember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Picked this sealer up a few weeks ago and love it!! Keep it in the back of the pickup so I can use it anytime I need it!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-31points
32of 95voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
Ames
From:Montana
Gender:Female
Household Size:5
Interest:Hunter

This product is NOT good for game

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disappointed in this product. Have used other Foodsavers when processing elk, deer, antelope and they worked much better than the GameSaver. Does not take the air out of the bags well and after trying to seal a few bags, light starts flashing and it is recommended you wait 20 MINUTES!!!! Who has 20 minutes between bags when you are processing that much meat?! I was really excited to try this product thinking it would be more heavy duty and user friendly....completely disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+71points
80of 89voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Kit.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
WildCook
From:Saint Johns, Michigan
Gender:Male
Household Size:4
Interest:Hunter

This product overheats fast! Lite use unit only.

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a very light use sealer. If your seal over 8 bags it will overheat and you have to wait 20 mins to get it back going again. I really do not know about you. However, when we are package up a deer this can turn out to be an all day deal. If you have a heavy use need. Please try to find the older Pro 111 food foodsaver. It runs a long time. Our's after 8 years of hard work finaly gave out and when I called the food saver company they told me that the Food Saver Silver was the best bet for heavy use for hunters and game saveing sealing. I'm send it back and go to get the older pro 111. I found them on line new. Sorry Foodsaver your boys at the corporate leve should try sealing a few times before you over sell this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+70points
76of 82voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Kit.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
K2Hunter
From:Frederick, Maryland
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

Expensive Junk

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased the GameSaver Turbo Plus last year (actually 11/2009) as a Christmas present for my wife and she was delighted. We used it about a half dozen times in 2010 to vacuum seal some meat we purchased from the grocery store and it worked fine. Pulled it out recently (1/2011) and it doesn't work. Almost as if it had a shelf life just beyond the manufacturer's warranty period. It doesn't go through the vacuum sealing sequence and also does not pull a good vacuum as it did when we first used it. Really sad that something that costs so much failed after such light and little use. We probably sealed ~ 3 dozen bags in 2010 and now it does not work. Needless to say, we are extremely disappointed in the product. I would not recommend this product as I figure it cost me about $10.00 a bag to vacuum seal my food in 2010 with this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+38points
41of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
kycg
From:ky

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good product so far but i use it a lot at a time and it gets hot and you have to wait 30 minutes for it to cool down
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
aaka
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Thumbs up

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Although my usage can be random & sometimes seasonal I have found this unit to do the best job for me. I take it on trips. So I can stock up out of town on items our community does not market and/or is too pricey.
The only thing better would be this model in 12v or battery operated & then I will move up to it!!!!
Otherwise this is the ONE!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Survivor
From:Maine
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Product work excellently.

PostedApril 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have vacuumed and sealed over a hundred items and the unit works fine. The only problem I found was the over heating. It said to wait 20 min. before restarting, but that is not always the case. Usually in about 5 min. you can go back to work. All in all a excellent product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
tomasso
From:New Castle, DE
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

overall good product

PostedApril 3, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In using the machine we are having problems with the small jar vacuum sealer with it keeping the gasket in place (no problems with the large jar sealer); several times the gasket has come out during the sealing process. Instructions are vague and caused a few sealing problem initially, but have since gotten them resolved.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
KTDid
From:Albuquerque, NM
Gender:Female
Household Size:4

Easy To Use/Dependable

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have used FoodSaver for 8-9 years. I wear them out. My only complaint about the design of the GameSaver is: When you use it to seal jars, the heat strip used to seal bags is also engaged and goes through a useless cycle as no bag is being sealed. This is a wasted action and wasted energy. It gives unnecessary wear on the machine and the heat strip. Did not go through this wasted cycle in the other machines I had used.
Very happy with the product and keep coming back for the higher end, professional, heavier duty models. I use it pretty much daily. A major trauma if it ever goes down. Always have a back up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
onebukmstr
From:Montana
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Hunter

Very Easy

PostedApril 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have the Turbo 2 which i am not seeing here. Have been using this unit for approx. 6 years with no problems what so ever. I process close to one hundred pound of meat, sausage at a time and have had excellent results every time. Will definately purchase another unit in the future if this one ever fails.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Toodley
From:Baton Rouge, LA
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

This product is easy to use.

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the third Food Saver that I've purchased and had I purchased this one first, it would have been the only one I would have needed to own. It is simple to use, has enough vaccuum power and allows me to effectively and efficiently utilize the Food Saver packaging rolls. It still needs a rest after about 10-12 sealings in a row, but I have learned to freeze a thin bag (food saver bag) of water that I use to cool down the heat seal. Instead of having to wait 15-20 minutes to start sealing again I'm typically ready to resume sealing within a minute.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
AK2011
From:Anchorage
Gender:Male

Doesn't Live up to the Hype

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I owned several foos savers in the past. I was excited to use this model because it suppose to heavy duty. After prcesseing starting to process 15 fish. I had to wait three times becuse the seal light was blinking and I had to wait 20 minutes each time. The seal is better but it older models vacumed better and didn't over heat. I will use this in the kitchen for light duty and look somewhere else for a better model
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
mobj92
From:Anchorage, AK
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

NOT good for game use. At all.

PostedJuly 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Purchased the new gamesaver after our older foodsaver died on us after 5 years of working wonders. Completely dissapointed with the new gamesaver. We process and store large amounts of fish, moose, and caribou and was dissapointed to see that after 10 bags or so of salmon, the light starts blinking and reccomends that you wait for 20 minutes to start again! We dont have that kind of time when you are looking at 55 fish to cut and bag!! Not impressed by the gamesaver at all. Hope to see a new foodsaver come out that serves the true outdoorsmen.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
EngiHunter
From:Denver, CO
Gender:Male
Household Size:4
Interest:Hunter

Game Saver Silver

PostedAugust 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JUNK!!
Overheated quickly, but solved the problem by putting a small fan behind heat vents. Will not seal with minute volumes of liquid present. Heating/sealing unit does not seem to transfer heat to second layer. Top part of sealing unit probably acts as a heat sink and pulls heat away from bag...
Ready to test my unit against the 12ga and get a real vacuum sealer...
Hunting Engineer
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Outdoorsmen75
From:Fond du Lac, WI
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

Game Saver Silver

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This products looks are very nice and it looks like it would be very durable. But we all know looks can be deceiving and I didn't buy this product to sit and look pretty tough, I want it to perform. The box clearly states that this vacuum sealer is made for "HEAVY DUTY, REPETITIVE USE". Well I found that not to be the case. I recently had 3 salmon smoked and after two fish the red led seal light started to blink when I tried to seal some fish. This indicates that the unit is over heated. According to the manual you must wait 20 minutes for cool down before using it again. I was not very impressed. I mean the thing could only do 2 fish before overheating. What kind of heavyduty use was this thing made for, people who shoot squirrels and rabbits? All I know is if it can only make it through 2 fish there is no way it will be able to do a whole deer in the fall:(. This is also my second vacuum sealer I have purchased that is a Foodsaver. The last one died just after the warranty was up (1 yr.). I would recommend spending alittle more money and buy a commercial sealer if your an outdoor nut like me.
No, I do not recommend this product.
User submitted photo
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Kit.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
cheeks
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

SAVOR your time and money

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I agree with the reviews ALOT Of Money very little use and nothing but problems with the GAMEsavor units.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
oggie1965
From:Indianola
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

Nice big and easy to use

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started using this the day Recieved.... I do alot of vacuum packing... I used for 2 hours straight without a hickup.... great suction....awesome product!!!!!!! I would highly recomend!!! I am looking forward to purchasing accessories for this vacuum sealer!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
shadow1
From:Havre De Grace, MD
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

Produce does not work

PostedNovember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used my Game Saver Silver less then 50 times. 2 days ago, I was vacumning some venison and it was working fine. After about a half hour of use, the product quit working and none of the buttons turn on even though there is electricity at the outlet.
I would not recommend to anyone
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
dgt164
From:Redwood, NY
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

sealer does not work

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this vacuum sealer because of the DC adapter. When I seal bags I have to seal them two or three times to get the bags to seal correctly. It just is not hot enough to seal the first time. Would not recomend
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
PanteraJim
From:Arizona
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

Foodsaver Gamesaver Silver Excellent product

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased the Foodsaver Gamesaver Silver for vacuum sealing bulk purchased products. I have vacuum sealed 50 pounds of Almonds, 25 pounds of Cashews, and 25 pounds of Dates, all done in 4 cup bags. I would have given it 5 stars except for the overheating issue. This is not a huge problem considering it only happened after doing about 20 pounds of products quick. It would have been nice if Foodsaver would have put a fan on it for cooling. I also tested the 12 volt feature and it works just as good as when it was plugged into the outlet, manual says it may have a longer cycle which probably relate to the voltage of your batter and charging system of the vehicle, it says to have it running which will boost voltage. If you are looking for a vacuum sealer for continuous use I would recommend a commercial vacuum sealer. This one does great for the money you pay!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>