FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator

The FoodSaver® Oval Quick Marinator is a 2 quart canister that vacuum marinates meat, vegetables and more in minutes. Designed for use with FoodSaver® vacuum sealing systems, the Quick Marinator infuses food with flavor in minutes instead of hours using vacuum power to penetrate marinades deep into the food.
Overall rating:
2.929 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
14 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
6 out of 1443%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Review 1 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
NittanyHeel
From:State College, PA
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

Great Product--For About 5 Uses

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is just another data point on what starts out as an excellent performing product, but self-destructs faster than a Mission Impossible tape recording. Even when hand-washed, the tops of both of the ones I had ordered cracked under negative pressure within their fifth use. I did learn from my very first one--I've had 3 total--not to put the top in the dishwasher--it warped right away. I don't know about everyone else, but I would be willing to pay an few dollars more for a thicker width lid if that makes it stands up better to the pressure. I agree with the one reviewer that a larger size would be more convenient for larger cuts of meat. Right now, a largish flank steak won't fit.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
nc77girl
From:Raleigh, NC
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Works well, a little small

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have used this a few times for meats and veggies (cucumbers and such). It does a very good job, and keeps the seal. My only improvement is the size; it won't hold larger amounts of meat without risking marinade in the vacuum hose.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ForeverGrilling
From:Springfiled VA
Gender:Male
Household Size:6

Storage and Marinating

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use this product all the time for marinating because we cook everything on the grill. Makes the meats, fish and pork ... any product that needs to be marinated, great for those last minute decisions. We also use for storage of veggies like grapes and strawberries and what ever else could crush. We are ordering more of this product great for the refrigerator as well. Note: Does not crack and ours is four years old. I am a guy so this item is plenty sturdy if properly cared for.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
ziniti
From:Attleboro, MA
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

Love this container

PostedJune 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strangely, I use this for storing my potato salad, not marinating. It makes the flavors blend beautifully. I even took it camping with me. The size was just great for storing in my RV refrigerator and the vacuum seal kept the salad fresh for over a week. (I have a FoodSaver vacuum unit in my RV as well as at home) I'm buying another one! I have 2 of the older versions, but I like this one best. I like the dome shape of the cover and the tabs on the outside for easy opening.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
meatetarian

poor design

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this container, or should I say loveD this container. It lasted a few months before the lid cracked from the negative vacuum pressure. I don't look forward to cooking meat anymore, as this had changed my whole perspective on marinading. Make a better container FOODSAVER!!! HURRY!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
BeachGirl
From:Fort Lauderdale, FL
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Poor Quality, Good Concept

PostedJune 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have has two of these containers and the lids broke on each of them with in 4-6 uses. The concept is great and when it is working it marinates meats and veggies very well but the design or material needs to be reworked. Wish it worked better because i would use it all the time. My husband and I love our FoodSaver, we are avid South Florida fishers and use it weekly to freeze our fresh catch too bad this container is no longer usable because we love the other products!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Keisha
From:San Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:6

Good while it lasted

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have used this canister any number of times. It marinades meat very well until it does not. Like other have noted, once the lid cracks, which it will, it will no longer seal. The design should be improved. I am very irritated right now because I wanted chicken for dinner and my marinader won't work.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
jengem
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

Great until it breaks

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have purchased two of these, because the first one cracked up the side of the plastic lid. I was hoping that the 2nd one wouldn't have the same issue, and thought it was just so much use, but unfortunately the 2nd one cracked as well. We used the both of them for the past year and half combined, and used them hard. They work GREAT for marinating, so if you are not planning to use a whole bunch you probably should be okay, but we used our once or twice a week for things, and so it got used very hard. Hopefully you have better luck than we did!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
JoeH
From:Apollo Beach,FL
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Cracked after about 5-6 uses

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Like others that have posted reviews, I liked this marinator until it failed with a crack as many others have stated. This seems to be a pervasive issue with these units. I tried to epoxy it, but it didn't last. The material seems to be too thin to handle the vacuum.
For the price, you'd hope it would last more than a few times
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Digger
From:Seattle
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Great concept BUT

PostedNovember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product worked great, marinated foods quickly but after a dozen uses the top selector knob started to leak. The good news/bad news…the good news is they’re fairly inexpensive however the bad news is there aren’t any replacement parts and they aren’t so cheap when you have to replace them frequently.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
George01
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

the lid needs to be redesigned

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the others. The lid cracks under negative pressure. I loved it when it was working. Foodsaver needs to redesign the lid to make it more robust, and last more than a half dozen times before cracking. Oh and while you are at it make it dishwasher safe. You have to hand wash this or it will warp.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Maureen27
From:Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Great so Far

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After reading the reviews about this not being a long lasting product I decided to try it. I have only used it 3 times so far and I love it. It does really cut down the marinating time which is great for people in a hurry like me. I hope it last longer than the reviews.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
MrRabor
From:Palm Beach, FL
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

Cracks a lot

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had two of these and both have cracked. Works well til you get the crack, then junk. With both of mine I was able to use about a dozen times. They are just not made well enough for the long haul
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® 2-Quart Oval Quick Marinator
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
LonC1
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

Marinator, 2.25 qt.

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The Marinator worked great, it saves a great deal of time.Minutes instead of hours.
I would highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.