FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® Starter Kit

FoodSaver® V2040 Vacuum Sealer combines form and function with a sleeker, compact design, flat touchpad control panel and CrushFree™ Instant Seal. Vacuum package moist, dry and delicate food safely with dual food settings and a choice of two sealing levels with an extra-wide sealing strip.
Overall rating:
4.043 / 5
4
 / 
5
23 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
17 out of 2374%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
4info
From:Gate City, VA
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

My husband and I just purchased a V2040 Foodsaver

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The foodsaver does not work properly. It is hard to use. You have to press down to open the saver after sealing. Also, It will not pull a vacuum unless I press down really hard in the center of the lid.
I have used 2 foodsavers for several years. Mine just tore up and I replaced it with the 2040. Bad choice. I don't think it seals as tightly as my others and it is very hard to use. Maybe if it worked properly, I would like it a little better.
I really miss my old vacuum sealer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
39of 55voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
rpate
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

super easy

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my first food saver, i kick myself for waiting so long to get one. this is a wonderful machine, i sealed every meat i had in my freezer that was in the store package, and every thing i have bought since... not only did i have fun..but the extra space in my freezer without all the extra packaging is wonderful. i have room to go get more! heheheh i love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
songbird
From:Duncanville, Tx.
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had many Food Saver sealers, and this is the quietest one I have ever had. You don't even know it's operating except for the light on while sealing or vaccuuming and light going off when completed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+37points
54of 71voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
banslug
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After 15+ years of use, my original Food Saver died on me. I was upset, because I used that thing at least 3 times a week for 15+ years. The site was offering the starter set at a really good price so I took the chance, thinking there was no way I'd find a replacement that I was happy with. I was wrong. This set is awesome; the containers are perfect for leftover bacon or lunch meat, single servings of soups, chili or stews, and the foodsaver itself is easy to use and compact enough for me to store it in the cabinet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
JDG1

Not good for Food Saver

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a problem getting the appliance to pull vacuum. When the lid is latched closed, usually it will not pull vacuum unless the lid is manually pushed down to make it seal. When is does vacuum a package, the vacuum is not nearly as strong as my other Food Saver models. I strongly recommend Food Saver sealers, but definitely not this model.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
LearnToUseIt
From:Washington
Gender:Female

Easy to use and excellent value!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my food saver bundle during the holidays at half off the price.
I have to say it is super easy to use. NO issues with sealing or the suction. You HAVE to make sure you place it in the little trench all the way otherwise, you're going to get bad suction. This is NOT due to the actual product but moreso the individual who is NOT doing it correctly.
We started to buy our meats in bulk. This saves me a ton of money. I no longer have to go to the store weekly. It's great! My meats are staying fresh. No freezer burn. No fowl odors or taste.
I am extremely pleased with my purchase from Food Saver. I highly recommend this model since you get more bang for your buck.
Enjoy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
loveasaver
From:Jones Creek Tx.
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

this is a great little saver

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There's not much to say that has'nt already been said, I used this foodsaver almost everyday and it always worked flawlessly, however my neighbor was wanting a saver, so when I saw the 2240 foodsaver I deceided to buy it. The reason was because I only have a little use of one hand and none of the other, so the little lock lever on the 2240 makes it easier to use if you only have one hand, other than that they are the same and both work fantastic, I can't imagine anyone being without one, I also purchased the roll storage and cutter and that is another great accessorie you can open all kind of bags and have bag storage and cut them to length, I also purchased another bag storage cutter, they have it at an unbeliveable price right now $9.99 and that one will let you put your foodsaver right on top of it, so it's almost like being built in, it holds both 8 and 11 inch rolls at the same time and has a cutter that will cut from right or left. Ilove all my foodsaver stuff. I just ordered another one today while it's 35% off, it's the V-2450 and it has bag storage and cutter build in. Anyway I started using foodsavers 12 years ago and will never be without at least two, just in case one quit working. I've never to this day had one single problem and my very first one was still working great when I gave it to a friend 3 months ago. These things save your steaks without freezer burn and look as fresh as the day you put them in the freezer months ago. Ok if you want to save food go get ya one. Marvin
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
28of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
Camio
From:Salt Lake City
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Dissapointed with this model

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is my second unit in just 9 months and it broke today, so now I'm on to my third unit. Customer Service is quick to replace, making me wonder how many other people are having trouble with this same unit.
I had another model for about 10 years when it finally conked out and figured that a new Foodsaver would last just as long. I am dissapointed in the quality of the machines now - which is too bad.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
JSmith
From:Martinsburg, WV
Gender:Female
Household Size:5

Like Pokemon "Got get em all"

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband and I loved it so much we are in the process of buying one for each of our family members, they love eating the food we put in it and they see that no freezer burn gets in or on it and they have no complaints. I would recommend this product to every one who uses freezers or leftovers. We continue to buy all the products from this company!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
JKinCO
Gender:Male
Household Size:6

Great starter kit

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this with a 30% or 50% off deal that you get if you sign up on FoodSaver's email list so it was a very good deal. I got a friend to buy the same kit too. It has met all of my food saving needs and I'm very happy with it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
teed
From:PA
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

HAVE TROUBLE SEALING

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have a problem getting the appliance to pull vacuum. When the lid is latched closed, usually it will not pull vacuum unless the lid is manually pushed down to make it seal. When is does vacuum a package, the vacuum is not nearly as strong as my other Food Saver models. I strongly recommend Food Saver sealers, but definitely not this model.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
NYCBikerBrat
From:NYC
Gender:Female
Household Size:7+

Highly Recommended

PostedApril 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had my FoodSaver for a few years now, it's the best thing ever. I'd be lost without it. If you bake, it's a must for storing brown sugar so that it NEVER hardens. You can amp up an impromptu meal by marinating in just minutes (vs. hours or overnight). If you buy food in bulk (dry, fresh or frozen) from warehouse clubs this device turns those jumbo size purchases into manageable portions that will not end up in the trash because they've spoiled before you could consume them. It's great for packing pre-cooked meals which you can reheat in the microwave. Seal up kids lunches, use for picnics, the beach, hiking or running. You can even re-seal (without vacuuming) bags of chips, etc. If you send goodies via mail (military, care pkgs, holidays, etc.) this is the ticket for keeping them fresh and stable during transit. I vacuum pack my sterling silver pieces so they are gleaming and ready for any occasion without hours of pre-polishing. I also vacuum pack cosmetics & toiletries before packing into my luggage to prevent spills and odors. Do note; the bags are re-useable. Cannisters are a worthwhile investment as well. Unlike so many "splurges" we later come to regret, this applicance will definitely NOT sit un-used, collecting dust in a closet. Go for it, you honestly cannot go wrong with this device.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
hunter270
From:Wyalusing Pa.
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Hunter

This is my fourth foodsaver wouldn't be without

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this one because it was a great deal. This unit also had some extras I found handy. This one is just waiting for the time I need it. Thanks for great products.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Arabe
From:San Diego
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

Great Product

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
No Problem very good product. easy to use with alot of accesories and very unexpensive
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
buck
From:stuttgart, ar
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Hunter

love it...

PostedApril 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As a hunter an outdoorsman this product is a must! gone are the days of water filled broken and busted ziplock bags, freezer burned meat, and packaging taking up more space than it should. we now do ALL of our wild game and fish exclusively with foodsaver. no mess, no worries, no problems. a must have for us!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
sprout742
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Love it!

PostedApril 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bought this Foodsaver because it was such a great deal. We have been able to start buying meat and poultry in bulk when it is on sale since we have a safe way to store it now. We have saved a ton of money with it! I would highly recommend this one to people who are just starting out with a Foodsaver!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
dwinchester
Gender:Male
Household Size:1

Low vacuum and seal would not work

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I purchased the unit from Kmart and when I went to use it I discovered that you have to manually press the lid down in order for it to pull a vacuum and then the seal light came on and when I unlocked the lid it wasn't sealed and after further checking the seal won't even heat up. I going to return it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Doug
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Outstanding piece of equipment

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife & I have worn out 3 other "Food Savers", all of which lasted years. I initally not happy with the new design, but had no choice. However, after having it for a couple of months now, we like this unit better than any in the past. It is fast, efficient and easy to use.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
jendan2925
From:Bronx, NY
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Great Product

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
At first I was skeptical about vaccuum sealers. But when this product was offered at a nice price, thought I give it a try.
What a surprise, this is a neat product. My stored products stay fresher and longer. I Love It!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® Starter Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Janet69
From:Syracuse, New York
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

The product has real value

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this food saver to start my college student daughter on the road to savings. This is a real help for her. It is how I started out with food savers many years ago and I am still very satisfied with my purchases.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>