FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At FoodSaver® Brand
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit

The Foodsaver® brand has put together another great sealing kit for the Gourmet Chef. This versatile collection includes the highly-rated V3840 Vacuum Sealing System, quick marinator, bottle stoppers, bags/rolls, and much more.
Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
19 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 1995%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Evelyn2012
From:Mesa, Arizona
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

latest FoodSaver

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had a couple of FoodSavers in the past, but wanted one that I could control better for delicate items, such as pastries. So, this is why I got this latest one, and so far, I am very happy with it. I also have the small hand-held one, for the special bags for deli items. That also works very well, and I'm glad that I got them both!
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
SuzieD
From:PA

Works Great, Looks Great. Little Counter Space

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compared to the old FoodSaver this unit works great. It works different compared to the old ones, you simply slide the bag into the machine, and if starts automatically. This is much different then the old ones. The built in roll storage is very convenient, and making bags from the rolls is much easier. It looks great if you have a Stainless Steel kitchen design going, and also which is very important to me, takes hardly any counter space!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
mrsman
From:KINZERS, PA.
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

LOVE this product!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy to use. Nice appearance! I buy in bulk and will put the Food saver to good use!
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
MisterEd1
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Great product, except for expensive cost of bags.

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The unit works very well, better than the first one I bought about fifteen years ago. It took just a little time to get used to the new features and layout. My only complaint about the entire line of Foodsavers is that the cost of the bags and rolls are so expensive. This makes the claimed cost savings by using their units quite exaggerated.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
alaskafisher
From:Valdez, Alaska
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Terrific!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had an old model for years, and purchased the V3840, since it is all automatic. We use it aboard our 40 foot boat out of Valdez, Alaska to vacuum seal our fresh-caught Halibut, Rockfish, Lingcod, & Salmon. Our boat has a chest freezer, which is great, since we go out for several days at at time. Great product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
chris717
From:Erie, PA
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

best kitchen gadget ever

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love cooking and do a lot of it. So, I have bought a lot of kitchen equipment. This by far is the best. I have been using the foodsaver products for years and couldn't live without my vacu-seal. Everything stays super fresh in the fridge and freezer. Years ago, before the vacu-seal, I wouldn't buy in bulk just because things would get freezer burned. Now, I buy everything in bulk. We had to buy to extra freezers to hold everything! The cost of the equipment and bags is well worth it considering how much you save in food that doesn't spoil or get freezer burned. Great product!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
DaddyOsDan
From:Florida
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

I need a 2nd one for work

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just cannot say enough how much I love this unit. I still have my old model (still works fine) but this by far out shines the others. I am getting one for my store. This really saves you hundreds of dollars!
You are the best!!!
Thank you FoodSaver.com
Dan
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
TioFranco
From:Denton, TX
Gender:Male
Household Size:1
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Best of Class

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've has a couple of other bands of vacuum sealers. Basic units. But, over the past few years, I've discovered so many uses for vacuum sealing, that I decided to go for a top end unit.
After an Internet search for brands and ratings...
It was clear that FoodSaver was "Best of Class". And if you're going to get one for Home use in the Kitchen...
The Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit, is the way to go. Purchasing the accessories as separate items would be well beyond the total cost of this package.
Even if you *think* you won't use them, I can assure you...
You *will*, in the long run.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Gary56
From:Litchfield, CT
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

2'' lost for every bag you use

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Because of the design. In order for the Vacuum or Sealing operation to begin you must push the bag into a point that pushes in 2 flaps that switch on the pump to start the process. It takes exactly 1 to 1 1/8 inches of bag to the seal point. First to seal one end then to Vacuum & Seal the other. You loose at least 2" to 2 1/4" of bag material for each bag.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Danny
From:Defuniak springs fla.
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

Unit is exceptionly simple to use.

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used this unit (V3840) right out of the box to seal the items I had waiting since my older unit failed . I showed the wife once how it operated and she took off on her own and finished up the task. This unit is so simple to use that i have been bragging about it to my neighbors. I recommend this unit very highly. Especially to hunters.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
Anne
From:Mount Desert Island,ME
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have this product, seals ok, BUT, I make so much noise it is scary,like a jet takes off..did not hear any noise in TV commercial.
This is not a cheap product, so I am very disappointed......
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
10of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Demily
From:Walkersville, MD
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Love it, love it, love it!

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never had a foodsaver and have wanted one for years. A neighbor bought one and recommended this one. I should have bought one years ago.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Randy52
From:Brighton,Co
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

This product is great.

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had it for 3 years and love it. It has saved me a lot on money over the years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
niteizes
From:NY
Gender:Female
Interest:Batch Cooker

overall the best of all Foodsaver models

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had this model V3840 for 2 1/2 years now, and still going strong and functional. The retractable air hose has been so far my favorite feature, next to the various setting for food sealing. It is quite wide, yet slim enough to store and have enough space in a in wall cabinet. I owned other Foodsavers, but this particular model has been the best so far. I simply love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Dollarbill
From:Gardena,Calif.
Gender:Male
Household Size:1

This product was what I was looking for.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am single and to save money on food purchases you
have to buy in large amount. It was hard to store the
food with out spoiling. With the food saver this solve the
problem.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Toca
From:Huntsville, Alabama
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Second best small appliance in my kitchen!

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First best is the coffee pot ... for obvious reasons ... gotta have my coffee. We use our food saver a lot, have a garden and use the freeze and steam bags for lots of our produce. Have a very spoiled dog and we make him turkey jerky and it has to be packaged and kept in the freezer... Thanks for such a wonderful product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
cjsatt
From:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

I really like this model

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The accessory hose is built in so I don't have to keep track of it. I thought it was going to be noisy after reading reviews but it really isn't. I like the standup model, I use it everyday so I keep it out on my countertop and it doesn't take up much space. I would recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
EnsenadaTuna
From:San Diego,CA
Gender:Male
Household Size:4
Interest:Fisherman

Great space saving design.

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use my food saver to preserve large quantities of fish,the new vertical design really makes it easy to do with my limited outdoor work space.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® Gourmet Chef Platinum Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
KEZ00
From:Batavia, OH
Gender:Male
Household Size:1

This product works better than I ever dreamed.

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product, now that my mom seen it, she has to have one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.