FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit

Frugal food-saving system. Keep meats, vegetables and more fresh with this FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit. Hands-free operation vacuum, seals and shuts off automatically with the touch of a button. Keep food fresh up to 5X longer.
Overall rating:
4.133 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
60 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
5
1 Star
5
49 out of 6082%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
VAFarmer
From:Orange, VA
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Gardener

Great for storing farm products

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I use the foodsaver to seal and store freshly butchered chickens. My birds come out of the freezer fresh. It's also great for when I forget to defrost things the night before, I just place the bags in water and the defrost time is reduced. I can't wait for the summer harvest to store fruits and veggies.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
mrsellie
From:Georgia
Gender:Female
Household Size:4
Interest:Gardener

good piece of kitchen equipment

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I had an older model of this, and decided to upgrade to get the canister attachment. I have had a little trouble getting the new one to work. I am hoping it is "user error" and that I will get better at it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
kendahla
From:Springville, UT
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Great product!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my Food Saver. It works really well and helps keep my food fresh. Plus, I got it for a killer deal so it was an excellent value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
tadmore254
From:Big Island, Va.
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Lovin it fresh!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have used it for veggies from my garden and buying value pacs of meat for the excellent sale price- now I can save money and the food last much longer in the freezer too, SWEET DEAL!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Heather2
From:Conway, arkansas
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

She answered the phone, I LOVE IT!!!! I love!!!!

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchase this Food Saver as a gift.
When I called just to check in my precious
Elderly friend. She answered the phone, I love
My Food Saver. I just love it. This she said as she was
Using it to put up some pecans she had shelled.
I was so blessed at her excitement and please with my
Purchase. Thank you for the wonderful price
That I paid.
Becky
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
diyou
Gender:Female

OK, but don't expect supurb

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I didn't actually get to use my foodsaver until several weeks after I bought it. I purchased it intending to use it for Thanksgiving leftovers, but when I opened it, most of the items were awol. I was missing canisters and all of the foodsaver bags that were supposed to be included. I called customer service and they immediately shipped out replacements, but it was two weeks before I got them. Customer service was fantastic, and the woman who took my call was super nice, but I discovered that this kind of thing happens frequently. I'm not sure I would trust a purchase from the actual foodsaver company again. The hassle isn't worth it.
As for my foodsaver I like it fairly well. It does what it is supposed to and the bags work decently. This product is HUGE though, so it is not a space saver. It is awkward and the rolls don't stay in the compartment. There should be some way to keep them where they belong, but there isn't. It is very loud as well. It is fairly easy to use, but the bulk and noise detract from the overall benefits. I did get this at a fantastic deal, so I really can't complain much, but I would not recommend paying full price for this one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Hunnie26
From:Dunnellon, FL
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Easy to use features

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with this purchase. The Food saver works great. Had older model in the past. This is very easy to use . Love the bag cutter feature. Really keeps food fresh. Would highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Scooter590
From:Michigan
Gender:Male
Household Size:4
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Great value and easy to use.

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first purchase of a vacuum sealer and have been very satisfied with it. Very easy to use and seals very well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
WannbeCook
From:Salt Lake City, UT
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Fair to poor quality

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have used a Foodsaver for years and like it very much. I purchased a new model and immediately returned it. Compared to older models, the overall functionality and durability of the new models are lacking.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
chefH

Worked Once

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used my vacuum sealer once, then it stopped working. Less than ideal.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
annesg
From:Staten Island, NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

does the trick

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I finally broke down and purchased this mini chef because I was unable to get replacement gaskets for the original mini, bummer I loved the size. The mini chef is quite a bit larger, but it's quieter and has a built in cutter. I also got one for my daughter to replace her original mini.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
meyersrx
From:Florence, OR
Gender:Male
Household Size:1
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Fantastic deal on cyber monday...

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been looking to replace my older very basic vacuum packer... it has seen better days and this fantastic bargain came online so I was one of the fortunate people to benefit... the machine is perfect for my needs... and is super simple to use with bag storage and cutter in the unit and only uses a small imprint on the surface area of my kitchen. Use it every day.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
mykidsmom
From:Philadelphia, PA
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

Great Christmas gift

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased three of these units as Christmas gifts for my daughter, son and brother-in-law. This smaller sized unit is a good choice for twenty-somethings. My son is in the military and I believe he will use his for more than food.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
TracieH
From:KY
Gender:Female
Household Size:4
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Made an excellent gift!

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this item for my sister. She was tickled with it and was able to use it straight from the box. I recommend buying the regular and wide mouth jar sealer attachments to make it even more useful!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
eeyore54
From:PA
Gender:Female
Household Size:6
Interest:Batch Cooker

Was what I wanted.

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was a Birthday gift, that Ihad wanted for a long time. Just as I hoped it would be
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
vees
From:Waverly,KS
Gender:Female
Interest:Gardener

food saver mini chef kit

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this kit and love all the features it has. Great little sealer and nice accessories.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
trogers
From:Huntsville, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:4
Interest:Hunter

fresh food

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a nice machine. An update to my original older food saver. It still lays flat on the cabinet and isn't real pretty to look at. If looks are an issue go with the more expensive model that sits upright. For the money, this machine is very functional and is exactly what you need. Simple to use and wipes clean when necessary. I love being able to buy large packages of meat on sale and separate them into smaller portions in the FoodSaver bags. I would definitely recommend any FoodSaver product. Not sold with this set but there is a marinating bowl that I highly recommend. We use ours a lot. Purchased after getting my first FoodSaver. And, for the record....first one did not break but we wanted a newer model that did not require us to press down machine while taking air from bags.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Beachgeek
From:North Myrtle Beach, SC
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Batch Cooker

Good deal for $50

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I think that this entry into vacpacking is a good deal. I was a bit disappointed that the lower priced/special mini Chef Kit did not come with the larger vacuum container.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
Peter
From:Atlanta, GA
Gender:Male
Household Size:4
Interest:Batch Cooker

This product is not as good as the other FS produc

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am returning this unit and buying another. This unit cannot be used without vacuum. Further it does not latch, so you have to hold it while it seals. I like the latching ones much better.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® Mini Chef Kit.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
Kanella
From:Tinlely Park, il
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

easy to use

PostedNovember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is a easy product to use. I had my daughters food saver and she took it back so I purchase this one and for the value it served its purpose.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>