FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit

The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit has all the essentials that hunters, fishermen and outdoor enthusiasts need to preserve their prized game. This kit includes the updated and rugged FoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver Vacuum Sealing System, accessories and variety of bags and rolls. Get started today! Preserve your prized game, save money and prevent freezer burn.
Overall rating:
2.9 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
40 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
15
19 out of 4048%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
Review 1 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
kaysuelou
From:bloomfield mi
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

3rd time hopefully a charm

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is my 3rd food saver, The last two gave out in less than a year. I received this one as a gift.When it works it is great, but I have yet to have one last past 12 months. Hopefully this one will last longer. I do love the product,but hate the short life span.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
suzie13
Gender:Female
Household Size:1
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

opening the package

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i am sure that this product is wonderful but i made holes in all of the four plastic bags that came with the vacuum system...find another way of packaging it is horrible thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Paul1Sally2
From:Kansas City, Mo.
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

Product did not perform as advertised on box

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Gamesaver Silver we purchased did not perform as expected or advertised. It is supposed to be for heavy and repetitive use and yet we were only able to vacuum and seal approx. 15-20 bags of Elk meat befor it indicated it was overheated. We read the instructions and did not try to rapidly seal alot of bags in quick succession, we worked at a slow and even pace. The unit did not feel hot to the touch but was shut down anyway. We got out our older 2000 series sealer and finished sealing up 200+ lbs. of meat non-stop with little to no problems. We have always had good luck with Foodsaver products in the past but we were very disappointed in the Gamesaver unit. We returned the Gamesaver and are going to try a different series sealer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Larbear
From:Brainerd MN
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Hunter

Great Product

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had another model of food saver and was not too happy with it as it wasted alot of bag material. Then I bought the Game Saver Silver, it works great, seals bag everytime and I waste very little bag material. Second year of using it, so far we have cut up and packaged 20 deer and beef and veggies, highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Redneck1

This thing is awesome

PostedNovember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ok i kinda went crazy sealling things but it worked so good that i was having fun and just kept going my wife just looked at me and shook her head ! i love this thing would buy agian and again !!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Nonni
From:Murphy, NC
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
For my first attempt I made a bag following instructions, or so I thought. I then placed the item in the bag and closed the lid, hit the vac/seal button then waited for the red light to come on. I waited and waited. I then repositioned the item and tried it again and again. After about 10 minutes of trying and about ready to throw the sealer out the window, I asked my husband to please help! After taking a look at it, it seems I didn't seal the bottom of the bag properly so air was leaking out thus making it impossible to seal, duh! After using it and learning what to do, which is relatively simple, so you see you can teach an old dog new tricks, I am now happy with my Game Saver Silver!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Skiboy

Can't handle moist foods

PostedAugust 31, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I own a FoodSaver V3835 and bought this to be a heavier duty, higher capacity unit. I tried 3 times to seal a damp kitchen sponge and it failed to seal each time. tried the same with my older model and it sealed on the first attempt. the cycle time is only slightly faster on the manual game saver than the automatic V3835. I'm returning the GameSaver.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Fish
Gender:Male
Interest:Fisherman

Part time sealer

PostedAugust 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works great for about 20 seals then overheats. On my second replacement same problem
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
jmalley

Spend your money somewhere else

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This machine overheated after the second time I used it. Decided to go the cheap route and it backfired on me. Spend the extra money and get one of the better sealers (Cabela's CG-15 or Weston Pro Series).
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
gerry622
From:Ethel ,La.
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

over heats to fast

PostedJune 17, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Because I live in a very rural area, I have to buy in bulk. It seems to me that if it's called gamesaver pro, it should last long enough to seal what ever I buy at the supermarket. I'm luck to get 20 sealings before it over heats. Now I have another 100 pounds of meat to seal. Sometimes it take me 4-5 hours to seal the meat I get from the market. I have had every foodsaver that has come out in the last 8 years. NONE of them live up to the hipe.....
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Rich
From:Onalaska, Washington

This unit is worth $10.00

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my second Game Saver (silver); the first would not operate properly. The door would not lock in place so it was replaced with a new one. The replacement started off just fine, now it has the same door issue. Both overheated after moderate use, pain in the backside. They sure don`t make them like they use to. Heck my Pro two worked excellent for 8 to 10 years, but this model is not available anymore, go figure.
Jarden is going to replace this one also at my cost of shipping. I would NOT recommend this unit to anyone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
rusty77
From:Berkley, MI
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Bad Product

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased this product to save money. The first one didn't work out the box. The door was jammed. The second one worked two times then the door jammed.
Just received third one and hope it works but not holding my breath. They definitely have a problem with the gear in the door.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
rhinobrecht
From:Phoenix, AZ
Gender:Female
Household Size:5

I love not wasting food!

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had this model for four months and love it. I haven't had one bit of trouble with it. I use it when buying bulk amounts of meat on sale & sealing left overs. I love being able to effectively seal all my foods and keep them longer. It has saved me a lot of money already! It's easy to use - I've trained the kids to use it for left overs and how to properly open the bags so we can re-vacuum and seal any unused food in the same bag. It's a wonderful system!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
BCkjn
From:Lafayette, LA
Gender:Male
Household Size:4

Over heats and shuts down

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I wish I had read some of these comments before buying this model. Went to our butcher shop and started sealing fresh meat. About 30 minutes in and we are waiting on the red light to stop flashing. I could have done better throwing this $200 dollars out the window driving by Academy and been just as happy. Bottom line leave this one in the store and move on.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
wyoming
From:Cheyenne, WY
Gender:Male
Household Size:1

The FoodSaver GameSaver Silver is great for volume

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The FoodSaver GameSaver Silver is great for sealing a high number of bags in a row. I use it to package dehydrated fruit and beef jerky and can vacuum seal many bags before the unit must cool down. I commonly make and seal 20 + bags from an 8" roll.
The durability and design of the FoodSaver GameSaver Silver is awesome. The ability to connect to DC power (car) is very useful for sealing fresh fish (or other game) in the field (then into a cooler!). The built-in storage compartment for the hose and adapter make it easy to use FoodSaver containers whether at home or camping!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
kiwiranching

This is a poor machine for heavy use.

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We bought this machine with the hopes that it would be able to vaccum pack large quanities of meat at a time. We were very dissapointed as the first machine seemed to over heat after about 30mins of use, it then would take around 30mins to work again, we returned the machine and was sent a new machine only to have the same thing happen. This machine said it was for game heavey use. that was a lie. very dissapointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
lizardreaming
From:sedona, arizona
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

use common sense

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
When it came time to buy a vacuum sealer did some research, read reviews, and tried to be smart. Accepting that sometimes a product is just a reject, chose the Gamesaver silver for a couple of specific reasons: it came with a selection of sample bags so it could be tried out, and it was adaptable for 12V. That being said, am more than pleased with the purchase. Have run into many of the problems that others have complained about, but usually it was due to "operator error". That means, My Bad! Because bags were included, was able to jump right in with a number of projects and all were just fine. Have only added two accessories, the adapter for using canning jars. GREAT! Will say, there is no way I'd expect this to do a deer, or side of beef, in a day. If that much packaging was going on here, would just step up and buy a larger scale, more professional unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
CedarShores
From:Minnesota
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Hunter

JUNK: FOOD SAVER - Game Saver Silver!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This product is not for a hunter, fisherman, gardener or anyone who wants to seal their product in a food saver bag. It does not seal first time, it over heats continually.
We had an older model for five years - worked great, got a new one and it is junk!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
nama25
From:Montana
Gender:Female
Household Size:7+
Interest:Hunter

We love this product!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We are a family who hunts, and we process several animals in our home yearly. This has been the best thing we have started doing with our meat. It's easy, and quick. Plus our meat has lasted so much better than the old fashioned way of wrapping. We own the FoodSaver-GameSaver-Silver.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The FoodSaver® GameSaver® Outdoorsman Premium Kit
This review is fromFoodSaver® GameSaver® Silver.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
disapointed
From:Minden La.
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Hunter

extremely time consuming

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I thought if I spent a little more money,I'd get a more effecient product,but that does not hold true here.I'm having the same problems everyone else is,overheating,fails to seal if there is any moisture present.The labeling is very misleading.I would not consider buying this product again,and will not give it away to someone who does not have a lot of time to kill.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>