FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At FoodSaver® Brand
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at FoodSaver® Brand.

foodsaver FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater

FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister in the two quart size comes with a bonus cheese grater that fits atop the canister for easy grating and vacuum storage all in one. Vacuum package and preserve cheese and other foods up to five times longer than average containers, or marinate meat, fish and vegetables in minutes. A low-profile design saves fridge space and our latch design secures a tight seal every time.
Overall rating:
2.423 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
26 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
13
8 out of 2631%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Review 1 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
workingmom

Poor quality. Cracks, implodes easily.

PostedMay 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I loved these containers, but they crack and implode. I had the first one for about a year before it cracked. Then bought three more and they all cracked within a week of using them. Very disappointing. Being a working mother, I cook meals on the weekend and vacuum seal them, so we can eat as soon as I get home. I rely on the vacuum sealer working properly and when the container cracks or doesn't seal, I have no dinner and have to throw food out. The vacuum sealer is a great concept, but only if containers work with it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
SueO
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Gardener

This is a great product and I just love them until

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just love these containers but they have all got cracks in them. I store cheese in one of them even though it is cracked and it seems to be OK but my other two are
cracked pretty bad. Need to make a change in the
quality of plastic used so they don't crack so easy. Please see what you can do because I just love my containers.
The meat keepers and the left over containers seem to be
OK or I should say they haven't cracked yet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
BeckySue
From:Morgan Hill, CA.
Household Size:2

Great Idea but....

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had two of the two quart rectangular canisters and they have both cracked within a month of getting them. When they are not cracked they maintain food in really good condition as I have noted with my smaller units (32 oz. & 48 oz.).
Both canisters have been replaced under the 30 day warranty which is great customer service but I'd rather have a reliable product.
I only hope Foodsaver engineering reads these reviews.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
Smushy
From:Philadelphia
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Cracks - Don't Buy This

PostedApril 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I should have known from the other reviews not to buy this product. It cracked (of course after the 30day warranty) so it is useless. Don't make the same mistake I did of buying this. It is indeed a great size and when it worked it was great but... if it only works for 45 days, it really is a poor product. Food Saver---please fix this and your other products that don't work -canister seals stop working, etc.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
fountain11

Bad material

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The material of the container is poorly made and bad quality (1 1/2 Qt. 8.8"x6.0"w x 8.3"H) clear plastic container). The bottom part of the container cracked and so therefore the product cannot be used anymore since air gets in. It happened to both of the containers I bought so it's a design defect.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
rlee
From:NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

Like most here...cracked after first use

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First time I used it, it cracked. Save your money. I like a lot of the products, but this definitely missed the boat.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Ricochet
From:Kilgore, TX
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Crack after using them

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I agree with the others..good while they work...but crack after using them several times.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
webejivin
From:Pasadena, Texas
Gender:Male
Household Size:1

FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had three canisters get cracks and could not use them anymore.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
MarineBaseNeighbor
From:Quantico, VA
Gender:Male
Household Size:5
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

All of them cracked!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'm compelled to write a review to advise other FoodSaver users to stay away from this model. All of the rec canisters I bought have cracked only after a few usage. Still a fan of FoodSaver, just not this model.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
dollyo
From:St. Peters, MO
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

love it

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Been a customer of Food Savers for several years.
Love all products except the round canisters. They cracked. They need improvement.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
Sparky01
From:Charlotte, NC

Both cannisters cracked and are no longer useful

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I used these primarily to marinate and both have cracked.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
falcon
From:AZ
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

2 qt container

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
product has cracked x2 - I glued it so cracked again
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
Anita
From:Oregon
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

Not the best buy

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have purchased 4 of these containers and Food Saver replaced 2 of them. They crack easily and then you can't use them anymore. Too expensive to have this happen. Very disappointing
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
ChasMan
From:Connectucut
Gender:Male
Household Size:7+
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

You need something larger 3-6 Qt container

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is too small of a size container. You need to reissue the 3, 4, 6 quart amber smoked plastic cylinders in those larger sizes. There's sooo many things you need the larger size. Make a batch of chili, spaghetti, pizza sauce, collection of my Penske Spices, bag of flour, etc. etc.
2 quart is nearly worthless, and it's easier to buy a case of 1 or 2 quart Ball canning jars and just keep resealing them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Kasey12
From:Harrison , Michigan
Gender:Female
Household Size:1
Interest:Fisherman

This product is very disappointing !

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love Foodsaver and most of the products I have bought , however this one is very disappointing . I use a lot of cheese and was thrilled with this product for about a month of use , it would not seal and then I discovered a crack all the way down the corner of it . I notice a lot reviews with the same issue so I hope this will be corrected , though I hesitate to buy any more containers at this time .
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
disneyfan
From:Rolling Meadows IL
Gender:Female

rectangle container & produce containers

PostedMarch 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product is not the same quality as the bags, other canisters, marinator, etc. It cracked (after the 30-day guarantee, OF COURSE!) and doesn't hold a seal anymore. I love he system - this is my 3rd one over many years and love all the other products, except this one and the produce containers - they did not work at all but was able to return those w/i the 30 days guarantee period.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
PBucky
From:Pacific, MO
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Product better than these old ratings indicate

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All of the reviews of this product are from early 2012 and older. I have purchased three of these containers since fall of 2012 and have not had the cracks or seal loss indicated. I use mine for all my different cheeses and plan to order more. Rim of container and gasket on lid must be cleaned before sealing to ensure tight vacuum seal. Other than that, container stays air tight for weeks. For expensive cheeses, that is important.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Daniel
From:Havre, MT
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Great if you take care of it Properly

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned this and a marinator both have been replaced at one point due to cracking but I also noticed some of my other plastic dishes made of a comparable material were getting brittle so I did a bit of looking and even though my paper work said it was top rack dishwasher safe the heat and steam can cause any plastic to become brittle since I have started hand washing in warm water all of my Canisters have held up
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Concerned
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Rectangle Canisters

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We have been a FS owner/advocate for many years and within the last 6 months we have had several of the containers crack, including 1 of the rectangular canisters. They have always been hand washed and cared for. Not sure what to do. Some are slight and usable and some are complete trash. Called CS and they are replacing with one round set and rectangular container. Just want them to not crack.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® Rectangular Canister with Cheese Grater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
scarlett811
From:FT MILL SC
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

I LOVE THIS CONTAINER

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This container is now my favorite. I love the size and the way it closes. Seals so easy. They need to make more like. this, I highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>