FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer

foodsaver FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer

Included In Offer:   Bag Starter Kit: 1 - 11'' x 10' Roll 3 - Quart Bags 2  - Gallon Bags   The FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealing System keeps food fresh up to 5x longer and saves up to $2700 per year based on buying in bulk, on sale and preventing waste. Form and function combine with a sleek, compact design and easy-to-use manual operation to preserve a variety of foods.
Overall rating:
3.724 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
76 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
9
1 Star
12
55 out of 7672%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Review 1 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
TheBagLady
From:Maine
Gender:Female
Household Size:3

I love mine!

PostedMarch 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've owned a FoodSaver since they first came out with one. This model has been with me through many freezings. I like to buy good meats in bulk then separate them into mealsize bags. Machine works like a charm and has yet to give me any complaints. I store mine in the pantry so I really don't care how it looks, but for those that do, it's sleek and fairly thin. I love the versatility of the already made bags and being able to make my own size bags for my individual needs. Well that's my review of it, hope it helps someone else. I don't know what I did before I bought it. Wasted alot of food I guess!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Cindy2u
From:Idaho
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Gardener

Tips for use

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tip is for every vacuum unit out there. I never have problems with juice running because I par-freeze everything juicy. For those that didn't understand my way of speaking, just put the food in the freezer bags but DO NOT SEAL. Fold the bag over then into another bag like a grocery bag. Put in the freezer for an hour or so, until partly frozen, then take out and seal the bag as usual.
This works well with meat, fish, fruits, just about everything. I really hope I'd helped some out there. Now on model 2450, I don't like the upright design. I can't see to line up the bag, to hard to get the bag in straight with the auto seal. I'm disabled and can't bend without pain.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
30of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
netznc
From:North Carolina
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Original Great - replacements very poor

PostedFebruary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I am on my third food saver. The first lasted 3 years then stopped vacuuming. It's replacement lasted less than a year before it stopped vacuuming. I bought the third one directly from a phone call to your help center. It is just about a year now and the 2440 will not work on the quick vacuum and seal. I have to cancel the vacuum and then seal the bag. When I cancel the vacuum to seal the bag, I lose some of the vacuum. I don't know why the first unit worked so well and the newer ones go south so quickly. I am pretty reluctant to purchase another one.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+46points
50of 54voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
KarenT
From:San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Quick, simple, economical!

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like to buy in bulk to save money on meats, fruits, and veggies. Standard freezer bags that you purchase in the grocery store do little to protect food. I found this out the hard way after losing $50 worth of Angus. I purchased the this unit at warehouse club and have been using it every week. It has been great to cash in on sales and money-saving bulk packages. I would, however, recommend that you buy the special "block" bags for meats. I tried the paper towel method mentioned in the direction, but it was tough getting the towel just right. Once you get your unit, register it and you will get some great coupons.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
retiredteacher
From:CT
Gender:Female
Household Size:1
Interest:Gardener

They just break after a year's use.

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my third vac sealer. They just seem to not work after a year. Each time I get an upgrade thinking maybe if I pay more I'll get better merchandise, but it's not so.
This one just stopped locking so in order for it to vac you have to hold it down on the left side. You can't let go or it stops and you have to start all over again.
I love the concept, but as a retired person I can't afford to keep buying these after a year of use.
I think it's time to purchase another brand name....it can't be any worse and the price is a lot less.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
olgoose
From:Loomis, Ca.
Gender:Male
Household Size:1
Interest:Hunter

To bad i could not make them last.

PostedApril 16, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have went through my second one. Do not use it but about once a month. Both of them still have suction, but do not automatically seal. You have to manually hit the seal button while it is in suction mode, and then some air gets in.
My first one they told me it quit because i got to much juice into it while sealing. The second one i got no juice in while in suction mode.
That is my last purchase for the FoodSaver brand.
Seems they should last better than that.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
cliffeasytouse
From:bucoda washington
Gender:Male
Interest:Hunter

v2440 it.s easy enough to use

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
when i first bought the v2440 it worked great the first few times i used it . after that it started losing sucking power and started runing continuesly .so then i have to push the seal button.but it still has some air left in the bag...... i,m low income.disabled so i can.t just run out and buy another for lack of funds.........
No, I do not recommend this product.
+22points
23of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
luv2cook1
From:Tri Cities
Gender:Male
Household Size:3

handy

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The sealing part is quick and quite. Vacuum is a little slow ! You must hold the lid down tight are it will not work is the only thing I do not like. Let it go while its vacuuming and you start over.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Mickl
From:Youngstown, OH
Gender:Male
Household Size:1
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

It is more powerful than my previous one.

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my fourth FoodSaver in about 10 years. I love the product. This one seems better than the one I retired. I especially like the efficiency when using canisters. Previous models were hit and miss when using the tube. My real complaint, is, however, the life span of the FoodSavers. I used it all the time, and could not live without it, but I hope this one lasts longer than the previous ones, I have owned.
One thing I do with the canisters: Instead of buying bagged salads, I wash and spin dry my lettuce and use the large canister to keep it fresh all week. It is less expensive than bagged salads, and you do not have to tolerate that chemical taste, of bagged salads.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
jhamy
From:Nothern Massachusetts
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Love saving money and this does it so easily

PostedApril 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this food saver(or one very much like it ) for over 3 years and I absolutely use it several times a week. We shop at one of the large food clubs and all my meats are flash frozen using this machine. I also use it for vegetable and other items in the refrigerator.
We are remodeling my kitchen and I'm seriously thinking about upgrading to one of the newer stand up models, but my daughter will inherit the one I have now, as it is still working just fine after at least 3 years of heavy use.
If you are thinking about one of these - do not hesitate. You'll be glad that you have it !!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Biscuit
From:Denver, CO
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

Great at first, but disappointed now.

PostedApril 26, 2011
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our model is not sealing. We have to hold the lid down to get it to start to seal and then have to select seal which allows air to go back into the bag.
We do not use it so much that we feel it should be worn out. I can't say with certainty but I think we have had it two years.
I rated high for it's performance when it was new. Overall rating is low because it hasn't lasted.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatar
loveasaver
From:Jones Creek Tx.
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

V2450

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have the v2040, v2240 and v3485, I don't really care for the v3485 because I only have a little use of my left hand and none of the other and for that one you really need 2 hands. I really like my 2240 alot,but it does'nt have bag storage or a cutter, so when I seen this 2450 I wanted it because of the bag storage and cutter, however after getting it I saw that it did not have a button for the canister mode, therefore when you use it for canisters you push the vacuum button, but then it vacuums and then the sealler also comes on, so that's a waste of electricity and your sealer will go out a lot faster. I'm probally going to send this unit back and get one that has bag storage and a canister button. Everytime I've ordered a newer foodsaver, it has always been a big improvement over the previous model, don't know what happen on this one, oh one other thing, this savers lid has a kind of wrinkle finish, not sleek and shinny like the other ones, don't care for that either as it will be harder to clean. Marvin. Loveasaver
Yes, I recommend this product.
+27points
34of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
abots
From:Durham, NC
Gender:Male
Household Size:1
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Passable but not ideal

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This was my previous vacuum sealing unit. It is very basic. The vacuum is strong enough to do the job but loud and slow. You have to cut bags manually and plug in an accessory hose. It outlasted the warranty by two years and FoodSaver was helpful by giving me a credit for some parts that I replaced just prior to it permanently breaking. I purchased the unit on sale at a discount outlet and it was a good deal at around $70. I wouldn't recommend anyone purchase it at the retail price since for just a little more you can get a better unit like the V3880 with automatic sealing and a marination mode.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Papagil39
From:Myrtle Beach, SC
Gender:Male
Household Size:2

Great product, Great price

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We bulk shop and vac seal weeks worth of food at a time. This is our third food saver (still have and use #2) and bought because after 6 years, we thought our # 2 would soon fail and the price was great.
This one works as well if not better than #1 & #2.
The only negative we find with these is the seal wire dies after a few years and can not be replaced. We bag over a 200 bags a month and the math says the wire dies around 20,000 usages.
We do have a separate "bag maker" to save the wire in the sealer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Kimberly
From:Houston, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:4
Interest:Hunter

It was okay

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I purchased to replace a Foodsaver I'd had for several years. It wasn't nearly as good as the old Foodsaver. It seemed to quit vacuuming before it was time! Several packages of meat lost their "vacuum" within a week of packaging. That never happened to me with the old Foodsaver...gee I wish I still had it! I returned this one and now I'm looking for a different model...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
shortknight
From:Rochester, NY
Gender:Female
Household Size:2

THIS PRODUCT IS A HUGE MONEY SAVER

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this product 2 years ago and use it for EVERYTHING. I am now buying one for my daughter. Have never had a problem with the quick seal, vacuum seal or cleaning. Occasionally, the machine needs a few minutes to rest when doing continuous sealings. All iin all the best purchase I've ever made.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
18of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
money
From:Maine
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

This product is easy to use and dependable

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is great for the homemaker, the gardner, the fisherman and anyone who likes to save money and by in bulk at special prices at stores.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+28points
51of 74voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
hunterswife
From:Santa Fe, NM
Gender:Female
Household Size:7+

Great product!

PostedDecember 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product works fantastic! Frozen food that has been sealed keeps it's original flavor and texture just like it was just picked. I have never had freezer burn on anything! Thank you!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
18of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
JBFS
From:Colorado
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Batch Cooker

Way better then the V3835

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We first purchased the V3835 through Amazon the Auto sensor is pathetic you need to redesign it. I could not seal any bag other then the FS bags and that was hard to do. I sent it back to Amazon for a full refund with this complaint. I then researched for the non-Auto and saw this one and the reviews on Amazon and your site were all excellent for the V2450. My wife and I love this sealer as we were looking to replace our old V375 which still works. We like the sealing function without having the vacuum motor kick in. The locking and vacuum function works great It seals flawlessly. The bag storage and cutter is excellent as it allows an even cut. This is what we were looking for, excellent product.
The old V375, we'll use in our RV.
The V3835 or any of your auto sensing models need to be redesign big time!!!
John
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FoodSaver® V2450 Vacuum Sealer
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
azrnteach
From:AZ
Gender:Female
Household Size:1

comparison between this model and newer V3840

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased this as a replacement for the newer V3840 (problem with Teflon strip burnout). This unit is harder to use since it is not hands-free. You have to hold down on the appliance to seal. I also think that the V3840 has a better seal. The vacumn sealer is not attached to the machine. What I do like about this model is that it saves on bags compared to the other model. You can more closely seal the bag to the edge. The V3840 wastes alot of the bag and they are expensive. Also this model takes up considerable counter space compared to the upright. I am glad the Teflin strip is not on this unit. Although the other unit still works fine mechanically there was no fix for the problem according to the company. Hoping this old-school model lasts longer. Don't like the fact that unless you pre-freeze you can't use on liquidy items e.g. soups, sauces, etc.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>