FoodSaver® Brand Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for foodsaver The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit

foodsaver The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit

 Included In Offer:   1 - 11"x10' Roll 3 - Quart-Size Heat-Seal Bags 2 - Gallon-Size Heat-Seal Bags 3 - Quart-Size Zipper Bags 2 - Gallon-Size Zipper Bags 4 - Liquid Block Bags 1 - 11"x 8' Expandable Roll 1 - Regular Jar Sealer 1 - Bottle Stopper   The innovative 4800 Series 2-in-1 Vacuum Sealing System combines both heat-seal and handheld vacuuming capabilities in one unit - giving you "More Ways to Seal. More Ways to Save"™.   Product dimensions: 15.88"L x 5.75"W x 7.19"H
Overall rating:
4.622 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
299 299
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 299 reviews
5 Stars
237
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
9
2 Stars
3
1 Star
12
277 out of 29993%of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Customer reviews for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Review 21 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
BradB

Very tricky getting the bag to seal

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have been using Foodsaver systems for many years and decided to upgrade my old machine for the new model. I have to spend quite some time getting the inserted bag to start the cycle. I miss the old system where you could see the bag end, close the top and push a button to start the sealing. I also worry that over time it could get worse or non responsive, which would render the machine useless.
Otherwise, it does work well and I like the quick response of the SEAL button when moisture starts to creep up.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Flatlander
From:USA
Household Size:6
Interest:Hunter

Works well after bag change

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the 4825 model at SAMs club. The unit is exactly like the 4865. The only difference is in the "extras" that come in the box. Like another reviewer, I could barely get the machine to take in the roll to make a bag or to seal. It was a huge exercise in frustration, and I was ready to box it back up and return it to the store. Fortunately, I had purchased a box of extra heat-seal rolls, and decided to try a different roll than what came in the box with the unit. Turns out the roll that came with the unit was very different from the other rolls that I had purchased separately. The "sample" roll was completely smooth to the touch on both sides, with one side of the plastic being "pebbled" only on what would become the interior of a custom made bag. All of the other 6 rolls purchased separately have a smooth side and a pebbled side , on the bag exterior and interior; the machine likes this bit of roughness. I think the sample roll being smooth on both sides kept the wheel from getting any traction with the plastic. The pebbled surface roll has worked without a hitch on every attempt. I think Foodsaver needs to pull those sample bags from their product pkg before their customer base disappears out of frustration.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+65points
65of 65voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Lelowe55
From:Elizabethton, TN
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Excellent product, easy to use.

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love this vacuum sealer. I followed the instructions and it works great. Everything is set up nicely. I like that the vacuum hose for the accessories retracts. I had one years ago that was separate and had to be attached when needed. The zipper bags are perfect. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase. It is an attractive machine as well.
I was somewhat apprehensive about buying it based on a review I read here about it. I'm glad I decided to try it anyway. I'm very satisfied.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+41points
56of 71voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
abots
From:Cary, NC
Gender:Male
Household Size:1
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Pricey but worth it

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second FoodSaver (FS) machine. My previous one was a V2400 series manual sealing one which I purchased four years ago and had a long life despite only having a one year warranty. While I liked having a dependable sealer, its basic nature left me wanting a more fully featured one, enter this unit. This is a great unit. First off, it has a five year warranty versus one year for other models so any defect issues are covered. Next, it doesn't take up excessive space on the countertop. I love the retractable hose-no need to plug and unplug accessory hoses. The functions are easy and the machine's modes are smart. One thing I had a concern about initially was how the automatic sealer would work. In the past I liked to use my manual sealer to seal frozen food bags. This one doesn't do that unless you cover the edge of the bag with a regular vacuum sealer bag, then it will work. This actually works better because in the past I was ruining the foam gaskets with melted plastic but this one doesn't do that. The marination mode worked without a hitch and the vacuum is faster and stronger than my previous one. I love the unit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+82points
87of 92voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
SpaceGuy85
From:Houston, Tx
Gender:Male
Household Size:3
Interest:Batch Cooker

Not the best

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We purchased this unit in January 2014 to replace an older unit that had finally quit working. We liked the look of the unit, and that it has several nice features. However, it did not take long for us to discover that the unit is VERY hard to use, especially trying to get a bag in "Just Right" to trigger sealing operations. Overall, the product is not worth the cost, and, now that we have had ours quit, we will use the replacement, but, still be looking for a different unit. I just want something that works, without having to work hard to get the unit to seal a bag. Very sad.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
KitLB
From:Long Beach, CA
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Batch Cooker

Waste of time and materials

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This was my third foodsaver in 14 years. I was replacing an older manual unit that was not vacuum properly. I have now returned this unit to Costco and bought another manual unit.
There are too many bells and whistles on this unit and they do not work consistently.
1. Sensor does not always recognize the bag. Wasted time.
2. Vacuum is running but no air being removed and then it seals. Wasted time and materials.
3. Vacuum pulls half the air out and the seals. Wasted time and materials.
4. Vacuum finally pulls all the air out and then seals. YAY!!!!
So for each sealed bag you have wasted 2 other bags and a bunch of your time.
This unit should have stayed in research and development until they ironed out all the bugs.
The manual units are great and less expensive.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Sussie
From:San Diego
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

first one I have not liked

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my foodsavers and won't live with out one. and always have to buy the newest one. I bought the 2 in 1 sealing kit and I hate it. Prior I had the V3835 and gave it away because I wanted the new one. One of the biggest mistakes I have made in a long time. It is not air tight, you have to press the start button to seal and it no longer has the hose that goes to the other attachments. Don't waste your money keep what you have. I will now have to buy the V3835 again because I won't tell the person that I want it back.. :)
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
TheOldGuy
From:South Jordan, UT
Gender:Male
Interest:Gardener

It's Great

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Writing is not my cake. This is my fourth Food Saver that I have bought. When a new one comes out that I like better I give the old one to a family member and get a new one. I really like this one I can seal bags, canisters, and other containers. It’s even better than Tupper Ware. With my garden and the veggies starting to come off faster than I can eat them, I freeze them in the seal bags until winter when I can eat them. There not like fresh but next best thing. Really like my FoodSaver 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Cnstntlrnr
From:Greater Minneapolis, MN
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Batch Cooker

Great addition to my FoodSaver group of products

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby got this for me when he saw it on a special buy. I now have 3 different units. Although I use ALL of my units based on what my need is, this is the unit that sits on the countertop for quick and easy use. It looks so nice and sleek, I get many questions about what it is and then from there the conversation always go to how it is used and how much we save. I especially like the retractable accessory hose on this unit. Due to diet requirements, I cook large batches of various items and meals and much of it is sealed in FoodSaver bags for later use. It makes it all so quick and easy for my hubby when he goes to the freezer to find something to eat. No processed foods or TV dinners here! Thank you, FoodSaver for your wonderful line of products!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Kennewick
From:Roswell, NM
Gender:Male
Household Size:6

A Little Deceiving

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I searched the informationseveral times before making a purchase. I found an ad the included 2 free items, I think they were canisters. I never received them.
I was really interested in the mason jar cap accessory, sounds very usefull to me, however, the cap is too small to fit over a regular common mason jar. I dont know what it fits, but must be a small one, doesnt look that small in the ad pictures -a little deceiving. Now, I will have to order more accessories to meet my satisfaction for what I expected through all of my previous research.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
sononsb
From:Cincinnati, OH

Keeps food fresh

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this product. It looks very nice with the stainless steel. It makes fast work out of sealing. I managed to break the retractable cord within 5 minutes of owning it by pulling it out past the red line trying to get it to go back. Now, it doesn't retract anymore. I decided to store it due to this and pull it out as needed, but I thought it was good looking and functional enough that maybe it could stay out on the counter, too. It does a great job sealing food and keeping it fresh, and I think it will save me money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Sharon64
From:Texas
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Gardener

great product

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently purchased the V4865 2-in-1 vacuum sealing system. As much as I would love to have this product for myself, I purchased it as a birthday gift for my son (any mother will understand this). I personally have an older model sealer which works great, but I would like to have the newer, shinier model ( any woman will understand this). I can't praise the vacuum sealing products enough. I love the ease of use and the freshness of the frozen food. I certainly appreciate your company offering the payment plan on the V4865, as this allowed me to give my son a great birthday gift that would fit in my budget. As to the product itself my son loves it and says it is an absolutely beautiful machine. Once again thanks for making it possible for me to be able to give my son a great birthday gift.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
brcdlm01
From:Culpeper, Va
Gender:Female
Household Size:6
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

The 2in1 Foodsaver is Awesome

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The new 2in1 Foodsaver is a stylish, sleek beautiful addition to my countertop. It's so easy to use, the attachment to seal bags and canisters is wonderful. I do wish the hose on it was a little longer. I did find when sealing wet foods quite a bit of liquid does spill out, but overall it's wonderful. I buy bulk when meats are on sale and the foodsaver helps me keep them in my freezer longer. I vacumm seal leftovers so they last longer or freeze them for lunches later. I'm so pleased i was chosen to recieve this as a sample to review, i highly recommend this to everyone. It will save you alot of money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-8points
15of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
jim16
From:lees summit, mo
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

awkward to use

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
had trouble getting bags from rolls to vacuum, the clear side kept curling under and would not let machine pull a vacuum. also, the zip vacuum bags do not hold a vacuum, despite several attempts to make sure the zip seal was tight.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
Farmerjohn
From:Roanoke Va
Gender:Male
Household Size:4
Interest:Hunter

Nice product but could be better.

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This Foodsaver model replaced another Foodsaver that is about 8 years old. It still worked but did not seal well. This new model seals great and I like that you can seal one end of the bag without having to run the vacuum like my older model. I think it could pull a better vacuum on the bags but I have not had it long enough to tell if it is keeping the food fresh. I may be just fine. My biggest complaint is that the first couple of bags I sealed when I put them in the machine it sensed them very easly and started to vacuum and seal them right away. Now only after about the first dozen bags you have to insert then remove and or wiggle the bags around to get the machine to start and the last coupleof bags the light came on like it was starting but it would not do anything. I finally got it to work. The machine is not dirty , I think there is another issue. I am done for the year because I only use this machine in the fall if it continues to do this I may have to send it back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Okeegrandma
From:Okeechobee, FL
Gender:Female
Household Size:4
Interest:Batch Cooker

Convenient to use every day!

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This FoodSaver is definitely a stay on the counter appliance. Most of my gadgets get put up to make room on the counter. My FoodSaver stays and is ready when I need it.
It is convenient to use everyday. Having the accessory port located on the machine means I can quickly seal up everyday items in zipper bags. I have not tried the bottle stoppers yet, but I see the possibilities.
When I go shopping, my machine is ready to seal up my bulk items just as easy and quick.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
22of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
dond
From:whittier, ca.
Gender:Male
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

great features but problems with automatic vacuum

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Food Freshness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my fourth foodsaver during the last 20 years. My last two were gamesaver models and the last one was becomming real noisy during the vacumming process so I responded to an email offer from foodsaver and purchased this new model. The problem I am having is that it takes so many times to get the automatic vacuum to activate. I have followed the instuctions exactly and some times I can't get it to activate at all ! I don't like the fact that I have to keep re-inserting the bag and waiting with no action occurring on the machine. It is even worse on a re-used bag!
It should not be that difficult for someone who is as familiar with foodsavers as I am. With my old style Gamesaver, all that was necessary was to properly insert a bag, close the lid and press a button. Unless there is a solution I will return it for repair or refund.
I like the other features and it is a nice looking machine but I doubt I would purchase it again unless this problem was fixed!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
USAMOM
From:New York
Gender:Female
Household Size:3
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Sharp lookin machine

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have owned 3 Food saver machines over the years. This is by far the best ! Fits nicely on the counter, looks great and works just as they say it will. Sealing food is a must in this economy and this is the machine for the job. Buying in bulk is a must for us and this machine can handle anything you throw at it. This machine is greatfor so many applications. We love camping and this product makes storing food and leftovers a snap.
Great job FOODSAVER!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
29of 42voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
PulsarAV

Very disappointed and frustrated with this model!

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This model is essentially the same as the Costco V4880 (same functions, same buttons, etc...).
I'm a long time user of FoodSaver products. I purchased my first one in 1994. I can't remember the model, but it was operated manually. I recently sold the old one, and purchased a V4880 from Costco.
I have never been so disappointed with a product. In fact, I made an account here just to give FoodSaver this feedback.
This is actually the *second* V4880 I purchased - After having so many issues with the first one, I thought it was defective and I exchanged it for a new one the next day.
On to the issues - (BOTH units did the same things!!!)
Because of these issues It took over *three* hours to vacuum seal 18 bags of hamburger, 8 steaks, and 11 pork chops.
1. Bag insertion sensing. Very poor. After an hour or so of experimentation, I was finally able to insert the bag so that it sensed it after three or four attempts. The learning curve was really steep. At first it would sense about once every ten attempts. I learned that if I cut the bag ends with scissors instead of the built in cutter it helped quite a bit.
2. Vacuum. Very poor. I was using 8" and 11" rolls to bag with. Assuming the unit sensed the inserted bag material, the "sealing" function worked fine. However the actual vacuum function worked only part of the time. After sensing the bag, the vacuum would start, the progress bar lights would advance but no air would actually be pulled from the bag, or sometimes it would pull about half the air out and then seal. The unit actually had vacuum because you could hear it hiss when the seal completed, but there was still air in the bag. I learned quickly that if the air didn't evacuate right away, to hit the cancel button and try again. I pushed "cancel" *many* more times than I pushed the "seal" button.
3. Time between bags. Very poor. With my old unit from 1994, I could bag food continuously, as fast as I could go, for 10 to 15 minutes before it overheated and I had to wait for it to cool down. This model, prevents you from doing that by forcing you to wait a certain length of time between bags. For example, right after a bag was evacuated and sealed, I would cut the next bag and hit the "seal" button to seal the end of the next bag. Nope - the red light would blink indicating it was in cool-down mode. I would count to 10, then try again. Sometimes I counted to 20 before it would indicate it was ready to seal.
This unit (received just this morning) is going back to Costco for a full refund. I will be looking at other alternatives for vacuum packing.
FoodSaver! I hope you are listening. These two units are either defective or poorly engineered. In either case, you should ask Costco how many returns they are experiencing and fix this issue or pull these models off the shelf. For your info I can't find a serial number on this unit so I can't give you any batch info.
Regards,
A frustrated long time heavy user of FoodSaver products.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+87points
100of 113voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for The FoodSaver® 2-In-1 Vacuum Sealing Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
katxndi
From:Irving, TX
Gender:Female
Household Size:2
Interest:Bulk Purchaser

Awesome Product!

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Food Freshness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This food saver is the top of the line of food savers. It comes with everything you need to keep your food fresh! I have used it so far for raw meat, sandwhich meat, and other foods and the food saver keeps it fresh! It is very easy to use and has many uses as it can keep fresh almost any food you want it to making the value of this product great! I receieved this as a sample to review and am throwing my old food saver out and keeping this one. I am very pleased to have it and have used it several times a week since I have had it. You will love this food saver!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>